Rice Stuffing with Apples, Herbs, and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
One word... WOW!!!!!!!!! This is so good. I added some roasted pecans in the second batch I made and they added a nice touch. Thanks for sharing this outrageous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Echols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Awesome recipe! I served this with 'Roast Chicken with Rosemary' from this site and it was wonderful. Would be great for a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I am in the process of making this seemingly wonderful stuffing for Turkey day tomorrow, and it says nowhere in the recipe what to do with the 1.5 cups of the chicken broth! Yikes! I guess I will wing it, and let you all know later with a rating as to how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This recipe has immediately become a family favorite and has been used for the past three years at Thanksgiving and Solstice. In fact, I had to find the recipe again to e-mail to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
we enjoyed this. please take the mystery away redheadedmystery. what do YOU do with the chicken broth. the pecan addition sounds excellent. even my husband who "doesn't eat this kind of thing" said it was good and to have it with ground sausage the next time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
YUM! I split this recipe in half and it still made quite a bit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Liked this a bunch. Went great with a roast pork tenderloin. I just made my wild rice separately as well as the white rice. With the wild rice, I used chicken broth plus some water. Added some golden raisins as well. This was very tasty served cold as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
this was a huge hit. i made this for a family party when my brother cam back from Iraq, everyone loved it. the only thing i added was sausage and i did not hadd the cherries, currants and apricots since i did not have them. it was totally awesome. thanks you and i got many request for this recipe adn will be using it for thanksgiving this year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
yum! i stuffed a winter squash and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I purchased a long grain and wild rice combination and just cooked it up acocrding to the package directions. I used microwave bacon (I hate bacon grease) and set it aside. I sauteed the onion and celery, and added the fruit to the rice while the rice was still a little 'wet'. Added the celery and onion, the dry herb mix (basil, organo, thyme, sage) to the rice and fruit and cooked on med-low until everything was cooked through. Added the bacon and parley and mixed until warm. This is an incredible dish. DH and I plan on using this a a foundation form here on out and will play around with substituting the bacon for chicken sauage, and the fruits and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Quinoa Stuffing

See how to make quinoa stuffing with squash and dried fruits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States