Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
As a professional chef and graduate of NECI, I find this recipe brings back memories of what my grandmother made when I was young. This is an excellent recipe and should be tried by everyone. Just a note to those of you who had a problem with this recipe, bear in mid all recipes need adjustment depending on your oven, altitude above sea level, your individual taste, etc. I am sure with a little tweeking, this rice pudding would turn out 100% all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
Although I didn't make this recipe I would like to offer my comments to those who found it didn't set up. I have a similar recipe and I believe the biggest problem is the baking time. Try baking it for 1 hour or more. A knife inserted in the center should come out clean. Then you will know it is done. Also, with Rice Puddings, they will come out better with whole milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Ok, having tried others on this site with disasterous results, this one shows the most promise!! Use 2c milk, and 1 1/4 c of COOKED rice, all else as is in the recipe. Finally, no rice soup and a tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is a great use for leftover rice from chinease take out since this recipe calls for already cooked rice...many do not. I used a cinnamin spice blend (which I believe has nutmeg in it) and I used more than recipe called for (I LOVE cinnamin). I also added more rice since many reviewers stated it was too much like soup. Since I am about 1800 feet above sea level and have a 20+ year old wall oven, I usually have to adjust my baking times, so I baked this a full hour. I also used another reviewers hint and tested for "doneness" with a knife inserted in the middle. The recipe turned out yummy, and I will keep it on hand for future rice leftovers. I would be more apt to call it a rice pudding casserole...if you are thinking of pudding consistency, it isn't like that, and you will be disappointed. It seems to have more of a custard consistency when cooked completely through. If you are hesitant to try this based on other reviews, please keep in mind that every recipe, even recipes from world famous chefs, need to be adjusted for personal taste. Would I give him a bad review simply because his dish was too spicy, no way! I overlook poor ratings that are based on personal preference (such as "too bland, too sweet, too spicy, too moist, too dry".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
After reading the reviews that said this recipe is too soupy I adjusted the milk. Instead of using a quart of milk, I used 1 (12 oz.) can of evaporated milk and 1/2 cup of 2% milk. The pudding came out thick and creamy. I do disagree with those who say it is too sweet...I think it would taste better with a little bit more sugar, but I have a HUGE sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Country Club Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I used long grain brown and wild rice, spenda in place of sugar and skim milk changing the measurements to 2 C milk, 1 1/4 C rice, 1/2 C splenda. This is a delicious recipe! I baked mine for 40 minutes at 350 turning out beautifully set and I ate it guilt-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
My family and I are avid rice pudding eaters. But this has got to be the WORST recipe I have ever tasted. Like other reviews mentioned: it looked bad, no flavor, too soupy, and too sweet. Bottom line...DON'T WASTE YOUR GROCERIES ON THIS ONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Rice soup. Good flavor though. I like my rice pudding more dence so at 30 min. I added a packet of instant vanilla pudding and cooked for anouther 30 or so min. Word of advise just check on it every 20 min or so and do the knife test... if it comes out clean get the spoon and a bowl and take some to the kids. Oh I also used soy milk instead of the cow milk and wild rice so it had more color and flavor to it. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I should have read more reviews before making this.....I think the recipe was written incorrectly. The rice should NOT be cooked. It MIGHT have set up with uncooked rice, but even though I added more rice (my gut told me to) and cooking for an extra 20 minutes.....it's still in the oven but I doubt it will ever thicken no matter how long I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This is one time "Mom" needs a new cookbook. As everyone else has said...this is rice soup. I followed the recipe and there is WAY too much milk in here. I added cinnamon to the mix and cooked it 70 minutes and still to have soup. Ran to Jewel afterwards (our local grocery store chain) and had real tasty rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GR8PL8TS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States