Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This was an easy recipe to make and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I read the other reviews so when i made this one I used 1cp whipping cream, about 2cups milk, 1 and 1/4 cup rice, and I like cinnamon so i didnt use nutmeg. I thought it turned out wonderful, We loved it! I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I should have read other reviews before making this one....way too much milk! I could only serve it to my 12 month old son and even then I had to dish it out with a slotted spoon to drain the liquid away. Good flavour though and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Perfect base. Possibilities endless. Topings???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatDog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Rice soup. Good flavor though. I like my rice pudding more dence so at 30 min. I added a packet of instant vanilla pudding and cooked for anouther 30 or so min. Word of advise just check on it every 20 min or so and do the knife test... if it comes out clean get the spoon and a bowl and take some to the kids. Oh I also used soy milk instead of the cow milk and wild rice so it had more color and flavor to it. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eli Colgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I can't imagine what the other reviewers were thinking when they gave this great reviews - they must not have ever had truly good rice pudding before. Did anyone ACTUALLY make this recipe before reviewing it? I did - don't waste your time or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I was looking for a recipe that called for cooked rice instead of mine which calls for uncooked. Thanks to the review that said use 2 C milk mine did not turn out too runny. But the rice ended up breaking down into a watery mess. In the end though my boyfriend and his friends ate it up and loved it. I guess that is what matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizUgalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is a great use for leftover rice from chinease take out since this recipe calls for already cooked rice...many do not. I used a cinnamin spice blend (which I believe has nutmeg in it) and I used more than recipe called for (I LOVE cinnamin). I also added more rice since many reviewers stated it was too much like soup. Since I am about 1800 feet above sea level and have a 20+ year old wall oven, I usually have to adjust my baking times, so I baked this a full hour. I also used another reviewers hint and tested for "doneness" with a knife inserted in the middle. The recipe turned out yummy, and I will keep it on hand for future rice leftovers. I would be more apt to call it a rice pudding casserole...if you are thinking of pudding consistency, it isn't like that, and you will be disappointed. It seems to have more of a custard consistency when cooked completely through. If you are hesitant to try this based on other reviews, please keep in mind that every recipe, even recipes from world famous chefs, need to be adjusted for personal taste. Would I give him a bad review simply because his dish was too spicy, no way! I overlook poor ratings that are based on personal preference (such as "too bland, too sweet, too spicy, too moist, too dry".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Ok, having tried others on this site with disasterous results, this one shows the most promise!! Use 2c milk, and 1 1/4 c of COOKED rice, all else as is in the recipe. Finally, no rice soup and a tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I wish I had read the reviews before I tried this version of "rice pudding"...lesson learned. I did save the dish by thickening with 2 tsp of corn starch diluted w/ carmel coffee creamer. Still was not as good as "Mom's".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States