Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Good basic recipe and easy to modify into a great one. By substituting 1/2 of the milk with unsweetened coconut milk, using basmati rice and adding a splash of Malibu coconut rum, it became a coconut lovers dream and a hit at the Super Bowl party. Some toasted shredded coconut on top didn't hurt either. I'll definitely use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This never "jelled" for me. I think it needs more rice or less liquid. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I was in a hurry and now wish I would have read the reviews before I wasted my time and leftover rice! This was hands down the worst recipe I have ever used from this site. This recipe should be taken off of here so othef people don't make the same mistake. If given the option I wouls have give it 0 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I should have read more reviews before making this.....I think the recipe was written incorrectly. The rice should NOT be cooked. It MIGHT have set up with uncooked rice, but even though I added more rice (my gut told me to) and cooking for an extra 20 minutes.....it's still in the oven but I doubt it will ever thicken no matter how long I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Great recipe I did everything exactly except added more rice to compensate for all of the milk. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stevensville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
just like mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlyjane_25
Home Town: Sesser, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Not quite as good as my Mom's, but not bad either. Added a little cinnamon and raisins - then baked close to an hour. And a little less milk than called for in the recipe. Darned good. Sue, tell your Mom "good job."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lost Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Tasted like scrambled eggs and rice even when made with less milk and longer baking time as suggested. Not creamy at all. Try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I loved the way my pudding came out. I reviewed some of the other suggestions and decided to use 24 oz of evaporated milk with 4 oz of soy milk. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon and a handful of raisins. I baked for about 55 minutes. I stirred after 20 minutes but i don't think i will do that next time since it disrupts the nice nutmeg toppping. The custard came out perfectly and the raisins added enough extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I had to add 2 more cups of Rice or else this would of been Rice Soup - Other then that this is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Tisinger
Home Town: Cambria, California, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States