Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
i was making some rice pudding and discovered i was out of vanilla, try subbing almond extract for the vanilla, u may be more pleased with the outcome as an alternative
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spydur0ne

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Darien, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherokee Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I used this recipe today (as practice since I dont present anything I'm havent tried yet). It was wonderful. I was a little skeptical of ALL the milk. But it turned out wonderfully. One of the main things was SLOWLY adding the eggs and put the oven on 375 for the first 15-20 minutes and then about 325 for the remaining 35 minutes. Mine came out considerably think (not creamy as I thought) but not bread-thick. I'm happy with my results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This set up nicely and I used 4 cups of whole milk, but my problem was it wasnt't sweet enough and tasted too eggy so I added 1/2 cup brown sugar also and pinch of cinnamon. I think the people who ended up with soup didn't scald their milk properly. I googled it and followed to the letter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is fantastic. I read the reviews and did what 1 person said about using evaporated milk and 2% milk. Mine was NOT soupy at all!!!! We like cinnamon so I added that. I will be making this again!! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I believe the recipe should read 1 cup rice, cooked, which makes 2 or so cups of cooked rice. You will get rice soup if you don't use white rice (you need the starch), real butter, real eggs and whole milk (all for the fats needed to combine with the starch to thicken it) Better yet use 3 cups whole milk, 1 cup half and half. Stir every 15 minutes and up the cooking time to an hour. I add presoaked jumbo raisins at the 45 minute mark. The recipe as is rates a 4. I think my changes make it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This recipe was very good. There was in fact to much milk but if you add 1 extra cup of cooked rice and 1 extra egg you have a great rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Vanderwalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My pudding turned out very runny. disappointing. Maybe something is missing from the directions. It seemed like a lot of liquid for the one cup of rice. I ended up with a bowl of hot milk mixture and very little rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I had already started baking it before reading the reviews about it being soupy. I noticed it was soupy and became concerned so I read the reviews. I added 2/3 cups more rice and baked it for 10 more minutes and it turned out delicious! If you still want a large amount I would suggest doing this instead of reducing the milk. It also probably leveled out the sweetness which people were also commenting on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was a really yummy recipe! I only made it once but for some reason I think its only amazing hot! but um!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This surely was written wrong. It had too much liquid for the rice. I did add more rice after it had cooked longer than the time recommended on the recipe and I saw it was never going to set up. The taste was ok after I finally finished with it but it was not a good recipe. I gave it one star just for the taste. I will read reviews before I start with another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States