Rice Pudding in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I wish I had listened to other reviewers. I followed the recipe as it is written. It is WAY too sweet, and this from someone who loves sweets. It could probably use a third of the sugar. It also calls for too much nutmeg which is very overpowering (once again, I love nutmeg). It requires more time than written, and more liquid. It does not taste like rice pudding. Overall, I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Now I know to read the reviews. It tasted fine after 12 hours(!) of cooking and even then the rice was not completely soft. If I were to try this again in the future I would definitely cook the rice first. I ended up adding liquid to this all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Nothing cooks in a slow cooker in 1.5 hours on low, or High even. I started it at 2 and it might have been ready at 6:45. I got tired of waiting. It's still cooling, so I haven't actually tasted it yet. I gave it the rating I did solely on the technique of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I wish I would have read reviews before attempting this. We had people over for dinner and it was embarassing that we couldn't eat it. After 21/2 hours on low I turned it to high and was another hour plus. Tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Long
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
i put in fresh split whiskey vanilla beans but don't understand why it says cook on low for 1 1/2 hours because it wasn't done....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Use SWEET RICE (from your local Asian store). I cooked on high for 2 hrs based on other reviews and it came out perfectly. Also cut the sugar to 3/4 c and it was still sweet enuf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I'm rating the original recipe 3 stars, but I managed to get 5 stars out of this recipe! Here's how: first, I precooked the rice on the stove. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I used one can of sweetened condensed milk and one can of regular whole milk. I skipped the sugar entirely because of the content in the sweetened milk. I added the vanilla, nutmeg, milks, cinnamon stick and cooked rice to the slow cooker. I let them go for 1.5 hours and then added one beaten egg and an additional 1/4 cup of whole milk. This is amazingly good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Natkat
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I only gave this 3 stars because the instructions for this dish are all wrong. I made the following changes and it ws over the moon. * I used 3 cups of water to 1 cup of sticky rice. * I cooked it on low for 6 hours * I gave it a stir and then added 1/2 cup of cocoa, 1/2 cup of sugar, a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a can of coconut milk. * I gave it another stir and let it cook for 30 more minutes while I got ready for work. * I then sat down to enjoy a warm, delicious breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is a pretty easy method for rice pudding. I agree you need to cook this on high for about 3 hours. I had some half & half in the fridge, so I used 12 oz of evaporated milk and 12 oz of half & half. I would probably increase the amount of liquid next time because the ratios in the recipe resulted in a sort of gummy pudding, and I like mine a little creamier. Probably add another 6-8 oz of evaporated milk. I also didn't have a cinnamon stick, so i put in 1 tsp of ground cinnamon, and it was pretty tasty. A pinch of salt didn't hurt either. I stirred about every 30 minutes, and the end result was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made this and while the rice I used was old, I increased the milk a bit and it turned out delicious. However after reading other people's reviews, I put it on high and it was done perfectly in about 1 hr and 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States