Rice Pudding With Dates Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I loved this easy recipe but I changed it a little bit. I used left over jasmine rice but I did not pre-blender the rice because the rice was already sticky and soft. I used fructose crystals instead of sugar. It came out very delicious and very filling. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oumhurayra the frenchie
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
good but not exceptional....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is really good, kind of a pain to make on a weekday, but a great weekend breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I followed the recipe very close the first time, except using only 10 dates and 3 tbs of honey instead of sugar. It was good just when you blend the cooked rice and combine everything else its kind of clumpy. So the second time- this morning- I ground the rice before cooking it, then for about 1 cup of rice I used about 3 cups of milk and 1 cup of water. The rice absorbs the liquid easily so you can not hardly put too much liquids in it. I also sweetened it with honey and Iraqi date syrup. Very smooth and creamy and tasty now! Very good basic recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zahra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I have made this twice now. The first time was a huge failure because I use brown rice so I really needed to either soak the rice or cook it for much longer. Realizing this, I gave it a second try and it came out fantastic (both in taste and because my toddler and preschooler ate it which to me means it is a keeper). If, like me, you are in the habit of soaking grains, then I recommend it. I pulsed the two cups of rice in the blender, then I put two cups water with half a teaspoon of kefir and let it sit with the blender lid on overnight. In the morning I rinsed, stuck it in the saucepan with 2 cups milk, some butter, the dates and about a half cup more water. I brought it to boil and then let it simmer about 15 minutes, stirring frequently. I agree with other reviewers that you really don't need 15 dates. Additionally, I substituted honey for the sugar, which I added at the table. Cinnamon and cardamon might be nice additions next time, as well as some almonds (properly soaked). One reviewer mentioned switching to soy milk instead of milk to make it vegan, I'd actually recommend almond or coconut milk instead, both would complement the flavors really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwdiaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
didnt turn out good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is good, plenty sweet. Next time I will only use 2 T sugar and maybe only 10 dates, maybe add some nuts, and it will be great for breakfast. I thought it was a bit weird putting it in the blender, but it gave it more of a breakfast porridge texture that was okay. Next time I probably won't use the blender though. I liked it both warm and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
For an easy vegan substitute, plain soy milk still tastes great =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This recipe tastes better warm than cold, but it is good either way. 15 dates are perhaps too many if you are using high quality, plump, large dates. Makes it almost too datey. An excellent Suhoor meal which has not left me hungry yet today and it's been 8 hours. So easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave L
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I love the taste of dates in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States