Rice Pudding V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This recipe was very easy and I like the fact that I did'nt have to use any eggs. I change the recipes around a little to makr it less fattening, I used brown rice and I used fat free can milk with a little fat free half/half and it came out very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Made this Vegan! I substituted soy milk and it came out great! It did take a long time to cook, but that may be because I didn't have a double boiler so I made one out of a wok and saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
So happy to try a stovetop variety, and had never considered a double-boiler. Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I have loved this recipe for years. I finally found it again after my husband requested it. This is such a delicious version, and for our friends who have an egg allergy, this is perfect for dessert in a martini glass, served with a cinnamon stick and an orange wedge (or an orange wheel if you know what that is). If you don't have a large-enough double boiler, do it over a low/med flame and stir every 2-4 minutes; more toward the end, as it thickens you'll need to prevent it from sticking to your pot. Also, if you don't have a DB, use a heavy-bottomed (not the pressed aluminum) pan. This is to ensure that your pudding comes out, instead of burning in a ring on the bottm of your pan. I do give this a 5 for ease, flavor and not heating up my house in the summer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Absolutely delicious. Either cinnamon or nutmeg is great. Added extra spice. Didn't have a double boiler used ordinary pot on very low fire. Stirred often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
We really enjoy this pudding! The last time I made it I suddenly had to leave the house, so I put it in a 250* oven for the remainder of the cooking time and it came out just as good. Sometimes I use cardamom instead of nutmeg or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe. I do not have a double broiler, so I add the sugar at the end with the vanilla. This prevents scorching when using a regular saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Rice pudding is a hit with my husband anytime and this recipe was very good. I reduced the sugar just a tad....1/2C. less 1T. It was just sweet enough this way. I always use whole milk. Using skim or even 2% does reduce the creaminess. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Simple and easy recipe to make. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Rice pudding is my ultimate comfort food. Whenever I'm sick, had a bad day, or it's cold outside, I go to make this. This recipe is essentially the same as my grandma's, which my family has been making for years. Using a double boiler is great because you don't have to constantly stir to prevent scorching. We prefer to use regular raisins and sprinkle cinnamon (instead of nutmeg) on top. I've never had a problem with the rice not being cooked enough, it's usually perfect after 1 hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States