Rice Pudding V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
We really enjoy this pudding! The last time I made it I suddenly had to leave the house, so I put it in a 250* oven for the remainder of the cooking time and it came out just as good. Sometimes I use cardamom instead of nutmeg or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I recently made this and thought it tasted really good. I made it with skim milk and had a problem with it not thickening. Some corn starch and water mixed together then added in did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This recipe was very easy and I like the fact that I did'nt have to use any eggs. I change the recipes around a little to makr it less fattening, I used brown rice and I used fat free can milk with a little fat free half/half and it came out very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Absolutely delicious. Either cinnamon or nutmeg is great. Added extra spice. Didn't have a double boiler used ordinary pot on very low fire. Stirred often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Made w/ 2%. Took about 90 minutes on the stove. Tasted decent, thought the smell was very starchy. Needs more raisons. Note that I'm not much of a cook, so...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Didn't like this at all sorry, had a very strange taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was good but I had trouble with the rice not being quite cooked enough even after 90 minutes.The next time I make this I'll cook the rice ahead of time and add a 1/2 Tsp cinnamon.For an egg-less recipe though I was quite surprised.The taste gets better after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I have loved this recipe for years. I finally found it again after my husband requested it. This is such a delicious version, and for our friends who have an egg allergy, this is perfect for dessert in a martini glass, served with a cinnamon stick and an orange wedge (or an orange wheel if you know what that is). If you don't have a large-enough double boiler, do it over a low/med flame and stir every 2-4 minutes; more toward the end, as it thickens you'll need to prevent it from sticking to your pot. Also, if you don't have a DB, use a heavy-bottomed (not the pressed aluminum) pan. This is to ensure that your pudding comes out, instead of burning in a ring on the bottm of your pan. I do give this a 5 for ease, flavor and not heating up my house in the summer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Rice pudding is a hit with my husband anytime and this recipe was very good. I reduced the sugar just a tad....1/2C. less 1T. It was just sweet enough this way. I always use whole milk. Using skim or even 2% does reduce the creaminess. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kandiee
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This needs rice pudding needs something more for flavor as the taste was dull. Also some of the rice was still uncooked after constantly stirring/cooking for 90min. I had to throw away the entire thing =o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States