Rice Pudding V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
My son is allergic to eggs. Since this recipe is eggless, it's a no-brainer. Very easy. Just mix all the ingredients -- except the vanilla -- in a pot and cook over low heat. Add the vanilla when done. I did substitute a bit. I used 5 cups of whole milk, and 1 cup of cream. Talk about rich! My son ate a bowl and looked like he was going to pass out. My wife looked at him, then me, and said, "I think it was a bit too rich, Honey." Hahaha! The boy has asked for it again. Maybe in a couple of months. But, this time, less cream. I need everyone more-or-less conscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
LOVED IT I USED CRANBERRIES INSTEAD OF RAISINS yummmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Came out a bit too thick for me. Nice flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Delicious!it was my first time making rice pudding. Creamy indeed!I followed the directions exactly. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe. It is exactly what I am looking for. I made it exactly as stated but did not add the raisins or spices since my family does not like raisins and they like to add cinnamon to the top. I did not have a double boiler and this came out great being cooked directly on the stove top. There was no sticking to the bottom of the pan. The only mistake I made was cooking it a little too long. I cooked the pudding for about 45 minutes. It came out a little thicker than I wanted, so next time I will cut the cooking time by a few minutes. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe. I do not have a double broiler, so I add the sugar at the end with the vanilla. This prevents scorching when using a regular saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I followed the directions, but did not use a double boiler. The receipe turned out fine in exactly the time specified. The result was good, but not remarkable. A fine standard rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
So happy to try a stovetop variety, and had never considered a double-boiler. Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Made this Vegan! I substituted soy milk and it came out great! It did take a long time to cook, but that may be because I didn't have a double boiler so I made one out of a wok and saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Rice pudding is my ultimate comfort food. Whenever I'm sick, had a bad day, or it's cold outside, I go to make this. This recipe is essentially the same as my grandma's, which my family has been making for years. Using a double boiler is great because you don't have to constantly stir to prevent scorching. We prefer to use regular raisins and sprinkle cinnamon (instead of nutmeg) on top. I've never had a problem with the rice not being cooked enough, it's usually perfect after 1 hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States