Rice Pudding (Kheer) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is just like the kheer from my favorite restaurant! I made it according to recipe but halved it. I didn't have rose water and had to use ground cardamom(1/4 tsp). It was still wonderful! I used chopped blanched almonds and also added some chopped unsalted pistachios. I used basmati rice and cooked up some extra rice. I added some extra rice to the finished kheer for a little extra chew but still left it soupy as it should be. So addictive! I wish I wouldn't have halved the recipe and next time I won't! I'm so happy to have found this recipe here. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is perfect. Kheer is not supposed to be thick like American rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynn
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I love the flavor! I'm reviewing this after making it for the first time. After reading through most of the reviews (starting with the most helpful), I decided to go ahead and make the recipe as written the first time and make adjustments as I go. Cooking on low the entire time didn't cook the rice. I still had milk soup. I know it's a thin pudding, but it's not supposed to be that thin. I threw another 1/4 cup of basmati rice into my food processor and ground it as finely as I could and added it to the milk for another 10 minutes after the initial 50. It started to thicken some. At that point I added the sugar (1 1/4 cups, but that's all I had) and cardamom. I think the amount of sugar was just fine, but I could probably use even less. And I used a heaping 1/2 tsp of ground cardamom because I couldn't find the pods in my local grocery store. I raised the heat a little to medium low and cooked it another half hour. I had to admit, I didn't see the part about covering the pot at first and only did it the last 30 minutes or so, but I really think not bringing it to just below a boil before turning it to low in the very beginning and the amount of rice contributed more to the consistency. But with my modifications, it turned out perfectly. So, next time I'll use more rice, higher heat (at first) and definitely cover it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
this sounds good too. It usually takes me a lot longer to make this recipe. I usually blend the rice a little using a hand held blender when it's cooked well.... right in the pot. and I add one can of carnation milk after I blend it. that helps it to thicken faster and adds flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Much too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Kheer is a very delicious dish. It is used as desert in various parts of the world, especially Indian-subcontinent. Over the years I have cooked several different varieties of Kheer. Please see them at: http://cuisine-beyond.blogspot.com/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Scaled back to 1 cup of sugar and still much too sweet. Milk/rice ratio was perfect as it starts to thicken a little while cooking but still remains soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metamora, Michigan, USA
Living In: Davison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I doubled the rice and removed the lid for the last half hour so the kheer would thicken. I served it to my South Asian culture class and they loved it. My professor from Pakistan said she couldn't have made it better herself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobugg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you. I think I spent 1 entire week looking for an authentic Indian rice pudding. I was going to make another recipe from another site, but it called for less milk and I didn't want a thick pudding. I changed the recipe a bit but it turned out perfect: 1/2 cup of basmati rice, one can of coconut milk (two cups) and 6 cups of skim milk (maybe a little less) with a splash of heavy cream. I followed the times listed but mine needed more time. About 1 hour and 40 minutes total. I added 3/4 cups of sugar (because the coconut milk has some sugar already) and it came out perfect, not too sweet, but not bland either (my husband suggested using condensed milk next time, and that might be a good idea). Didn't have rose water and used 1/4 tsp of ground cardamom. Used slivered almonds, chopped unsalted pistachios and about 20 golden raisins (1/2 cup in total). This added more flavor and depth. This is a keeper. I can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I halved the recipe. I only had fat free milk and some 1/2 & 1/2...so used half of each totalling 4 cups. I used level 1/2 tsp cardamom...I love that flavor. Didn't have any rose water so I used a scant 1/2 tsp vanilla...figured it couldn't hurt....it was fine. Did not soak rice per other reviewers but did cook per recipe the whole 70 minutes covered and it came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States