Rice Pudding IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I also used whipping cream and boiled the rasins with the rice and cream ,,NO water,,whipped the egg whites and folded them into the mixture then bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I knew from the recipe directions that this would not produce a creamy rice pudding, but more custard-like. I didn't expect it to separate so much though or be so watery (except the other reviews warned me). I won't make this again. I like the brown sugar and maple flavor, so I will probably try it on the stove top with the same ingredients minus one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Tastes GREAT )with added vanilla & cinnamon) ... but really needs to be cooked at a lower temp, in a water bath, in order to be creamy. I'l be experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I used medium grain rice & 1% milk (which work great for stovetop rice pudding) - rice & raisins sunk to the bottom, milk/egg mixture curdled. Sweetness is fine. Something definitely missing to make the pudding creamy and not separate. 2 1/2 c of milk is what I'd use for 1 1/2 c cooked rice on the stovetop. Since this was only 1c cooked rice, the milk ratio is probably too high. I also wondered about the bake temp of 400, seems quite high (vs. 375 or even 350). Don’t know how many times I’d be willing to “tune” this to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
this is the first time i've ever made rice pudding. i made the following alterations: 2 cups thick whipping cream 1/2 cup 2%milk 1/4 cup maple syrup (real maple syrup NOT something like Aunt Jamima's (sorry about the spelling) i mixed the out of the concoction BEFORE adding the rice People have said it curdled, it's not that it curdled it's the fact that it has a similar consistancy to creme brule it was awesome! even the dogs loved it. i like really sweet things so this did it. it was great for breakfast with my morning coffee. thanks! i think the trick is to mix the eggs, sugar, milk and syrup so that it's completely liquid with no lumps. it turned out nice and golden and was very VERY good. thanks for the recipe...oh yeah and i didn't add raisins. lol thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I made this recipe with japanese short-grain rice, and i don't know if that was what went wrong, but it came out of the oven all seperated, like scrambled eggs and rice. flavor was fine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
My pudding turned out horrible, I followed the recipe exactly and it curdled,i think this recipe needs a little more fine tuning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Came out very curdled, wonder if it would have done better if it had been in a water bath. Ended up stirring and cooking it longer. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
The pudding tasted good, but it was very watery and curdled. Maybe because I used skim milk. If I try it again, I'll use something with a little more fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
We liked the taste of it. It was good. The thing that I would change is to put a dash of cinnamon on it after it has been cooked to add a little more flavour. Also I would add a little bit more milk in it to make it not so dry. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States