Rice Pudding III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This turned out really quite good. Here are the changes I made( just because I pretty much change every recipe- even the 1st time I make it.)1st I used a mix of whole milk(1 cup), cream (2 cups) and 1%(2 cups) for the 5 cups the recipe calls for. 2nd I used 6 eggs instead of 7. 3rd I had about 2 and1/2 cups of short grain brown rice to use up. I beat the eggs well first and added the vanilla, sugar (only 1 cup) and the milks to it and beat again, I even beat in all the rice I had.(hand blender) Baked it at 350 for 45 min(wasn't sure if it should be covered or not so DID cover for half that time.) It was all separated like many of the reviews said, the rice was all at the bottom, just stirred it up well and Voila! a lovely creamy rice pud!! YUM. There must be an easier way to bake a rice pudding tho' ,thus only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I only wish I had found this article before attempting this recipe: http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/How-to-Make-Rice-Pudding/Detail.aspx : I've always been one to gloss over negative reviews, considering how many others are very positive--thinking the former folks might have just gotten it wrong--but, not this time...the nays have it. There is something WRONG about this recipe. First, 7 is WAY too many eggs. Second, this rice "soup" requires at least a 3.5 qt dish. Third, a 300 degree oven will barely dry sliced bread, how can it cook a giant quiche (which is really what this is)? Fourth, 45 minutes is laughable. I had to leave it in there least an hour just to get enough thickness to stir it (so the spattering of rice wouldn't settle at the bottom). I threw it in for another 45 at 325 and it was still undercooked, separated, and inedible. Stove top seems the better way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Agree with all the other reviews. I have made rice pudding before on the stove and thought this might be creamier, but it is slushy. I used less liquied and egg and more rice, but still no good. I will drain some liquid and put it in longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
sorry, this just didn't turn out for me. I should have listened to the reviews - the flavor was very eggy (and I only used 4 eggs!). It was like egg custard with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDoodle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Honestly I wonder if this recipe isn't misprinted. I halved this, then only used 3 eggs and 2 cups of milk. I used a 1 1/2 qt casserole dish and it took over 90 minutes to bake. The resulting pudding was still mostly egg with a little bit of rice thrown in. The rice was all at the bottom. I spooned some of that layer out, topped it with cinnamon and it tasted very good, but was still very eggy. This recipe needs major revisions to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
icooked it about a 1/2 hour longer. so it was alittle brown. it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Even though I thought this was way too much liquid to put into a rice pudding recipe that only called for 3/4 cup rice, I decided to try it anyway. Sadly, I was right. This recipe cooked up to be a liquid mess. In the future, I would either halve the liquid, or double the rice. Hope you have better luck with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Shrub Oak, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Before the 45 min. baking time was up I pulled it out, added cinnamon & stirred very well due to the layer of liquid that covered the top. After allowing it to bake for a while longer it really came out well. I suggest preparing the recipe but only bake about 1/3 of the mixture & refrigerate the rest until desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Almost thought this could turn out creamy. Very disappointed as it came out like a cooked slab of egg whites with rice in it - like a custard that couldn't hold it's form. Water separated from it that I tried to drain. I ended up throwing it out - what a waste. Next time I'll stick to my stovetop recipies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Perhaps I did something wrong, but this pudding didn't turn out very well. The pudding seperated into an eggy quiche texture and liquid. Tasted alright but the texture was not what I had in mind at all and I didn't even bother saving the rest (and there was a ton). Definitely would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States