Rice Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
The pudding turned out very soupy, I followed the recipe but something went wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I've always hated rice pudding. My dad would buy it from the store and it was just plain nasty. I made this last night and to my suprise i loved it. I wouldn't change anything about this recipe it is perfect the way it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
taste good had to cook it longer to get less watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I had just the tiniest bit of 'scrambled egg', but I think if I had taken the time to incorporate the eggs and milk, that might not have happened. As it was, scrambled wasn't obvious--I was looking for it after reading the other reviews. Mine was a little watery. Maybe just a couple of more minutes or whole milk would have helped. Pretty good, though; a keeper for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The recipe didn't work at all :( The milk and the rice didn't mix well and it's way too watery, and there was even a layer of melted butter on top not absorbed by the rice! Even when i halved the sugar the sweetness was cloying, and the milk curdled. It was overall a disappointment..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
After reading other reviews (and not wanting to disappoint my sick grandson) I increased the rice to 2 cups and doubled the cinnamon. It baked about an hour and 15 min, then I stirred a cup of milk in once it cooled a bit and its perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I had cooked rice in the fridge, so I skipped step one. After reading the other reviews, I started with all cool ingredients. I thought this would avoid the "scrambled eggs" in the pudding. I followed the recipe exactly but halved it and baked in an 8X8 dish. The resulting dessert took 90 minutes to bake, and I wouldn't really call it pudding. I wouldn't call it custard either. I stirred this several times while it was baking (also thinking this would cut down on scrambled eggs). When I finally did remove it from the oven, it was covered with a layer of grease. I had to blot this with a paper towel. After sitting, the mixture did firm up a bit. The rice took on a brown tint from the raisins, and it was full of little bits of - yup - scrambled egg. This was extremely sweet, so I would recommend cutting the sugar by half. I think I will go back to stove-top rice pudding. I don't know that it's just this recipe - I think I just prefer the creamy texture of stove-top. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I used 3 cups rice, 4 cups milk and 3 eggs, rest as written. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Great Recipe! Some suggestions after making this..use short grain rice because it is sticky. Long grain rice stays separated and may cause the separating of the eggs that some reviews mentioned. Also, if your rice and melted butter are too hot the eggs will begin cooking before you get the dish in the oven. Temper the eggs ( adding beaten eggs to just a small amount of rice and milk, then add to the rest of the ingredients) I also used only one cup of sugar since the raisins can be very sweet in a baked recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States