Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2000
This recipe was a total disaster. I had so much milk and hardly any rice. How can adding 3/4 cup rice to 2 quarts of milk make rice pudding? I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
I am VERY picky about finding the perfect rice pudding recipe. I've tried so many and I love this one. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I too was trying a rice pudding recipe for the first time, and without looking at other recipes I decided to try this one as to the mostly good reviews. When I completed the pudding, my Fiance, who knows rice pudding, could not understand why the recipe calls for so MUCH milk compared to the measurements of the other ingrediants. We looked in recipe books such as "Joy of Cooking", and found other recipes of six servings, with 1 1/2 - 3 cups of milk, and seem to be baffled to the porportions of this recipe. In a dessert dish, this voids about 12 servings, an additional cup of rice, and maybe double the sugar, and it would be much improved. Hope this helps others :- )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I have been searching for the perfect rice pudding recipe for some time now and I must say that I believe I have found it. I prepared this recipe for my children, 3,2 and 8 months. They all gobbled it up like nothing I have ever seen. I loved it as well. I did change some things though; I used 1 cup of long grain rice, 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of whole milk combined with the egg mixture, and 1 cup of raisins. It was excellent. I will definitely be making this again, and again...... Thank you for a wonderful recipe that took me back to my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
i've never had rice pudding before, but my dad LOVES it. so i made it for him tonight. i cut the incredients in 1/2 but used 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of raisens...it was a hit! i will definately make this pudding again! i topped it w/the fresh whipped cream as well and my dad loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This was my first attempt at making rice pudding, and I have to agree that the amount of milk called for seems like way too much. Folling the directions exactly, it took me almost 2 hours to make, and it never set up. I now have a pan full of sweetened milk and a little bit of rice in my fridge. This would probably be very good if you use less milk, or a lot more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
If found this to be a very good recipe with several changes: 1. I steamed the rice first, using 1 1/2 cups of rice with 1 1/2 cups of water, then adding it to the boiling milk and simmering for 10 minutes. (I ended up steaming the rice in my first batch, scooping it out of the milk, after cooking it for more than an hour). 2. I used 1 cup of sugar and a little sprinkle or two of salt, because I like things very sweet. 3. I used 1 1/2 quarts (6 cups) of milk instead of two quarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This was my first try at Rice Pudding. It was a big hit at Christmas Dinner, with older people that know Rice Pudding. The only thing I changed was I added more rice, because that is the way I like it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I tried this recipe and it turned out wonderful! I did add more rice to make it thicker. It tasted just like my mom's without the baking. It was quick and easy and was a hit!! I plan on making it again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
This was my first itme making rice pudding. I want to make it for a 4th of July party I am having. All the relatives requested it. The recipe came out good. My only complaints is I think it needed a little more sugar and the cook time was a lot longer for me. I was afraid of scorching the milk. But, then again it was my first time. It took longer to boil the milk than I thought. Other than that, I thought this recipe was really good! My girls loved it! I will definetly make this for my 4th of July party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States