Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
How is it possible that this recipe got a 4 star rating? In trying rice pudding for the first time, the reviews were right - too much milk, not enough rice. It took a hour to rework in process and I ended up with 3 times the rice pudding that I intended. We'll see how (if) it sets up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This is the best rice pudding I have had since my mother used to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiebaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
this is way too much liquid. it had a good flavor, but i had to pour out *alot* of the liquid or it would have been rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This is OUTSTANDING! I've never tried rice pudding before, but gave this a shot. I actually liked the amount of sugar because I'm not the "sickening sweet" dessert type. I ran a little short on milk, but the consistency was perfect & it gave me a good arm workout too! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallfares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I have been searching for the perfect rice pudding recipe for some time now and I must say that I believe I have found it. I prepared this recipe for my children, 3,2 and 8 months. They all gobbled it up like nothing I have ever seen. I loved it as well. I did change some things though; I used 1 cup of long grain rice, 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of whole milk combined with the egg mixture, and 1 cup of raisins. It was excellent. I will definitely be making this again, and again...... Thank you for a wonderful recipe that took me back to my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
An excellant old fashioned recipe - this one is perfect if you are looking for something just like 'grandma used to make'. I increased the sugar by another 1/4 cup because my family likes it a little sweeter and also decreased the milk incorporated into the egg mixture by 1/2 cup but really this one is perfect without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This was my first attempt at making rice pudding, and I have to agree that the amount of milk called for seems like way too much. Folling the directions exactly, it took me almost 2 hours to make, and it never set up. I now have a pan full of sweetened milk and a little bit of rice in my fridge. This would probably be very good if you use less milk, or a lot more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
If found this to be a very good recipe with several changes: 1. I steamed the rice first, using 1 1/2 cups of rice with 1 1/2 cups of water, then adding it to the boiling milk and simmering for 10 minutes. (I ended up steaming the rice in my first batch, scooping it out of the milk, after cooking it for more than an hour). 2. I used 1 cup of sugar and a little sprinkle or two of salt, because I like things very sweet. 3. I used 1 1/2 quarts (6 cups) of milk instead of two quarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I made it w/o the whipped cream. It was pretty good, but not great. Not really worth the calories. Surely it would have been better with the whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is one of the best rice pudding recipes I have ever come across. Actually I have been looking for one like this for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Randolph, Vermont, USA
Living In: Eastham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States