Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe! However, I gave it a 4 star rating because I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used the custard recipe with 2-day-old leftover chinese takeout rice. Some tips I could give: 1)DO NOT put the vanilla extract in while you heat the custard. Add it after you turn off the heat. Otherwise it will taste bitter. 2) Do not heat the custard quickly, otherwise you get scrambled eggs. If you want to be extra careful, use a double boiler or a bowl over a pot of boiling water. As soon as the custard can coat the back of the spoon, it is done. 3)With my extra-dry rice, I made the amount in the recipe and then 30 minutes later I had to make another batch of custard and mix it in since the rice soaked it all in. Making it with the precooked rice made it much easier, just next time I use dry rice, I might soak it in some warm milk first. I hope I don't sound critical--it is a great, versitile recipe. I'll definately keep it in my recipe box! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by (ME)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
After reading the other reviews I increased the amount of rice and added cornstarch to help with the thickening. It did manage to thicken up but it took more than twice as long, more like 25 minutes instead of ten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
We have been looking for this recipe for years. This is really good. It takes some tome to make but is definatley worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda McCaffrey Rudio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is exactly what I was looking for. Instead of uncooked rice I used left over coconut rice from dinner. Also, I used only about 1/4 the amount of milk, and added cornstarch to help thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proclaimthename

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is the basic recipe I use myself but I use way more rice and it's much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pomfret, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
How is it possible that this recipe got a 4 star rating? In trying rice pudding for the first time, the reviews were right - too much milk, not enough rice. It took a hour to rework in process and I ended up with 3 times the rice pudding that I intended. We'll see how (if) it sets up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This is the best rice pudding I have had since my mother used to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiebaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
this is way too much liquid. it had a good flavor, but i had to pour out *alot* of the liquid or it would have been rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This is OUTSTANDING! I've never tried rice pudding before, but gave this a shot. I actually liked the amount of sugar because I'm not the "sickening sweet" dessert type. I ran a little short on milk, but the consistency was perfect & it gave me a good arm workout too! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallfares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I have been searching for the perfect rice pudding recipe for some time now and I must say that I believe I have found it. I prepared this recipe for my children, 3,2 and 8 months. They all gobbled it up like nothing I have ever seen. I loved it as well. I did change some things though; I used 1 cup of long grain rice, 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of whole milk combined with the egg mixture, and 1 cup of raisins. It was excellent. I will definitely be making this again, and again...... Thank you for a wonderful recipe that took me back to my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States