Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
9 cups of milk to 3/4 cup of rice - - 9 cups of milk for 6 servings of dessert - this is really only a custard recipe calling itself 'rice pudding'. After adding 2 extra cups of cooked rice it is still just borderline as a rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
We didn't have long grain rice so used regular white rice. We followed the milk measurement, but added a full cup of sugar AND doubled the amount of rice. We also used 1 teaspoon of Oriental Five Spice Powder and about 1 teaspoon ground cardomom. After working with it on the stove top, we poured it into a n oiled casserole and baked it for about 30 minutes at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul & shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Delicious and refreshing! In reading other reviews and completing the recipe three times, I have found that it is very important to follow the directions carefully. For example, be sure to pour the mixture in step 2 slowly as directed while stirring quickly. Be sure to be patient and let the milk boil @ medium in step 1. The second time I made it, I tried to boil the milk on high and ended up with burned milk. Yuck. Basically, read carefully, follow the directions precisely, be patient, and you will have delicious rice pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Excellent recipe!! To the previous commenter who was concerned the recipe didn't call for enough rice: this is 3/4 cup UNCOOKED rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This is fantastic rice pudding!! I did have to cook it longer than the 10 minutes to thicken it but thats a minor problem.Its a hit with my family! TRY IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Worley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This recipe is actually good when you meausre the things up correctly. Never use that much milk with that little rice. I used 3 cups of rice and measure 4 cups of milk, but i do eyeball it and add whatever I think it needs. As long as it's thick with a little bit of milk visible, then it should be fine. Also, reduce the eggs and dont add more milk when adding the final ingredients in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was really good, but I found that it worked better with a little more sugar (2/3 instead of 1/2) and medium grain rice. I also tried it with brown sugar and that was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe! However, I gave it a 4 star rating because I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used the custard recipe with 2-day-old leftover chinese takeout rice. Some tips I could give: 1)DO NOT put the vanilla extract in while you heat the custard. Add it after you turn off the heat. Otherwise it will taste bitter. 2) Do not heat the custard quickly, otherwise you get scrambled eggs. If you want to be extra careful, use a double boiler or a bowl over a pot of boiling water. As soon as the custard can coat the back of the spoon, it is done. 3)With my extra-dry rice, I made the amount in the recipe and then 30 minutes later I had to make another batch of custard and mix it in since the rice soaked it all in. Making it with the precooked rice made it much easier, just next time I use dry rice, I might soak it in some warm milk first. I hope I don't sound critical--it is a great, versitile recipe. I'll definately keep it in my recipe box! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by (ME)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
After reading the other reviews I increased the amount of rice and added cornstarch to help with the thickening. It did manage to thicken up but it took more than twice as long, more like 25 minutes instead of ten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
We have been looking for this recipe for years. This is really good. It takes some tome to make but is definatley worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda McCaffrey Rudio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States