Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was absolutely yummy; rich and creamy. I didn't have raisins on hand so I had to omit them from the recipe, and I used a whole cup of sugar to make up for the difference in sweetness. My family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My family and I enjoy this recipe very much. It's a very refreshing dessert. Not too heavy in the least bit. I cut back on the raisins a little for personal taste. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My whole family loved this rice pudding! I wanted to use up some left over steamed white rice from dinner the night before. So I combined 1 cup of low fat milk with 2 cups of cold already cooked white rice in a medium sauce pan; warmed them on a medium heat while I combined the eggs, milk, sugar and vanilla. Then I followed the rest of the recipe except I used an 8x8 pan. Great recipe and very quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Soupy mess. What a waste of my time and money. I should have read the reviews before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti T.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
here is what I would change: up the rice to 2 cups. Add more sugar, 1/4 cup at a time until sweet to your taste. Only use 1/2 Tbsp cinnamon, and use 1 full Tbsp vanilla. I have made rice pudding many times before; but I couldn't find my usual recipe so I quickly printed this one off. Even with the changes I made I still thought it was a rather disapointing pudding. Rice pudding is not hard to make an usually delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is the most wonderful recipe. I have an onld family rice pudding recipe, and this one trumps that one! My family just loves this, and it is a comforting dessert. I would not change a thing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This turned out really well. I ended up making two batches. I substituted the sugar/second cup of milk with a 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk....turned out great! I do think you could add a little more rice - i did a cup instead of 3/4...but it really comes down to how much creamy custard vs rice you want in your spoonful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Everything went great, until the second boil, after adding egg mixture. Even with vigilant stirring, I wound up with scrambled eggs and rice. Definitely think the milk/egg mixture Ned's to be tempered before adding into the hot milk and rice. Have tried much better rice pudding recipes and will probably stick with those in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I did not look at the comments before making this. Unfortunately I found the same issue as one other commenter. Not much rice for 2 QUARTS of milk. Should have been at least 3 cups of rice. Usually rice pudding asks for 3/4 cup of rice for 2 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is the 2nd time I made it, this time I followed the recipe exactly, except I ran out of milk and substituted half and half for the last cup of milk. I was careful to follow the proportions exactly. You really do have to use UNCOOKED rice to make this come out right and thick. I don't add the cinnamon but pass the cinnamon and nutmeg shakers so people can have a choice. Terrific either way. I used jasmine rice and demerara sugar and everyone liked it. I like it warm as well, quite a lot of it never gets to the refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States