Rice Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I couldn't get this to work at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crys10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Thanks so much Jamie for sharing your unique recipes for allergies. My daughter is in the same boat and we have been playing with recipes for years. Yours turn out great! I didn't have any rice for this one so I substituted with half the amount of tapioca flour/starch instead. They are the fluffiest non wheat, eggless pancake we have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was a nice alternative for when I was out of eggs. However, it was very bland. I added cinnamon but either should have added more or included something else, like nutmeg or vanilla. My fussy husband was not a fan, and it was a very heavy pancake. I do suggest frying it in butter, because the part of the batch I did with butter instead of Pam tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These are surprisingly easy to make if you have leftover rice. These work better with overcooked (but not burnt!) rice. They hold together better. I made rice pancakes before with another recipe and it called for the rice to be mashed. I also remember reading about a "mouthwatering" recipe which included lemon juice, cinnamon, and vanilla- I included these this time and they turned out delicious. I have Celiac, but didn't have rice flour so I instead used instant mashed potato flakes. They turned out between a pancake and a hash brown- and were still good! I excluded the baking powder and instead of the vegetable oil used 0live oil- it's healthier. I will definitely make these again! Thank you Jamie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I have several food sensitivities but have a horrible sweet tooth. This recipe is a nice weekend treat for me. My husband also enjoys it even though he can have classic pancakes if he wanted :) I did modify it slightly, I took advice from a fellow reviewer, tcronin, and added 1 fluffed egg, I also added vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon, omitted the applesauce and used almond milk. I would recommend this to anyone but I think you need to add some spices for that true "pancake" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We didn't care for these. DH said we might have had bad rice flour, so we might try them again. The flavor just did nothing for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Since my children were small we have always taken the leftover white rice and used it for the next morning breakfast by adding milk, butter, sugar and raisins, our personal version of rice pudding. I don't have food allergies but I am always looking for healthy recipes to try and this one has been added to the list, my grandson loves pancakes so I will try this the next weekend he's over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Consider using Rice Milk & Maple Sysup Lactose Free. Grape seed oil for frying is great. Recipe as is , is Yummy! Stan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Can't wait to try these. I have celiac disease and grandson has egg/dairy allergies. This has us both covered. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I just made this recipe for the first time and it turned out pretty well. We are new to gluten-free and I was craving a baked good of some sort. This definitely helped my craving! I substituted almond milk in place of cows and agave for the sugar. I added a pinch of salt, cinnamon and vanilla. The texture is still very different from regular pancakes, but I was able to get used to it after a couple of bites. Thanks for the recipe. Update: When I made this the second time, I mixed the ingredients slightly different and the outcome was a very fluffy pancake! I used the same substitutions as stated above, but made these changes: heated my skillet first, mixed dry and wet ingredients separately then added the wet ingredients on top of the dry, only mixed about 10 times with a whisk til it was just barely combined, then immediately scooped onto my skillet. This texture was more like regular pancakes than when I tried to mix it with the electric mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States