Rice Noodles with Shiitakes, Choy, and Chiles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe. I did take a few of the recommendations and doubled the sauce and used one package of rice noodles. The rice noodles will soak up all the sauce so depending on how you like it you may want to reserve some of the noodles and add them to your plate when you are ready to eat it instead of putting them all into the dish. I added sugar in the raw, just a tiny bit to balance the flavor. I will make this again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
My husband had his boss over for dinner and he is a vegan. Worked great for the dinner party. I would make it again but I would cut the soy sauce in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
We loved this!. I cooked the rice noodles first, with a drop or two of sesame oil, then added only about 1/3 to the wok. The rest I set aside for placing the vegetable mixture atop. I used fresh chiles and reconstituted, dried shitakes, but followed the time and cooking instructions, otherwise. I have already alerted our produce manager that I will be ordering the chile peppers frequently, as I plan on making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I read the reviews beforehand and was glad i only used 1 packet instead of 2 for the noodles. Great recipe other than that!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was great!! I felt like I was in Korea for a moment. This is a great pasta dish and would go well with kimchee. Just eating the pasta reminded me of the time I was station in Korea and would go all over the country trying this dish!! Thank very much and I am looking forward to making this dish again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was a great recipe. I did add a couple hands full of cherry tomatos from our garden and sweezed 1/4 of a lime over all. I substituted the chiles with one chopped jalapeno seeded. I could see this recipe with chicken or shrimp and a bit of fresh mint or basil. Yum. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This dish has a great flavor. I love shiitakes and bok choy! But it's way too many rice noodles. They were a huge sticky mess. I'd recommend using fewer, and adding a little oil to the water you boil/soak them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
ok but not amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Nothing special. I love all the ingredients but the flavor just wasn't there. I doubled the sauce recipe too, and there still wasn't enough flavor. If I ever make it again, maybe I'll add more peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I halved the recipe and I think the proportion of sesonings should have changed. The peppers came on pretty strong (which is a good thing to me!) but it needed a little more sugar, ginger and garlic to balance the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States