Rice Mess Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Was Really good, but, as others said, needs a little more doctoring. Will be looking forward to trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This was simplistic and very tasty. I used brown rice instead of white, and adjusted my cook time for the brown rice accordingly. I made the rice and the meat in advance the night before so when I got home, all I had to do was heat everything and melt the cheese. I doubled the garlic and omitted the mushrooms as the kids won't eat them. Instead of using American cheese I covered it with one cup of shredded nacho cheese blend. Everyone asked for seconds. This would be a great make freezer make ahead meal or a potluck meal. You could even use this as a 'stretcher' for taco meat by replacing the tomato sauce with salsa. The options are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I love this recipe! Perfect for a busy weeknight when you have no ideas and no time for dinner. I just added a little basil and oregano and 3 cloves of garlic for more flavor. I used rice cheese for my daughters and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was really good, An earlier reviewer stated this reminded her of athe inside of a stuffed pepper so I added some chooped green pepper and onion and added a little more garlic and added a dsh of wishtershire sauce to the filling like I would when I make stuffed peppers. my family of 6, 2 adults 1 teenager and 3 under age 8 finished the entire pan at dinner. will make again. Already told DH that the next pot luck we have I am making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This came out really good - 5 stars because even my step son who doesn't care for rice ate this without much complaining lol. I followed the recipe closely. I made it go further by making more rice (3c water & 1-1/2c brown basmati) and I had some grape tomatoes to use up so I chopped them up and added them to the ground beef mixture and that's my only changes, they're minor - just modifying the quantities of items in the recipe (chopped tomatoes and tomato sauce similar enough) and that worked well for us. We'll have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I really enjoy this recipe. It is quick to make and usually I have all the ingredients on hand. I do add a can of corn to this. Fresh Italian bread goes great with this. It is a good recipe to adjust to your families personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is not a gourmet meal, but it gets five stars for how quick and easy it is to make and for the surprisingly good taste. I made some small changes to this recipe. I used garlic powder and minced onion and I added some chili powder, Cajun seasoning, and just a small bit of brown sugar. Then I sprinkled shredded cheese over the top. It turned out fantastic. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was a pretty well-named recipe. It was quick and filling and cheap and well-rounded, I guess, but it was just kind of blah. Nothing especially tasty. I made it exactly as written, using 93% lean ground beef, a small/medium yellow onion, and sliced "medium cheddar". For the mushrooms, I wasn't sure about can weight versus net (drained) weight, but I used 2 cans of 4oz. drained weight, and that didn't seem to be too much mushrooms. This does take a fairly big skillet. My skillet was getting full, so I transferred everything to a slightly larger pot, and continued to cook the "mess" on medium until the cheese melted a bit. It was good enough to gobble down for several dinners, but I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This stuff is awsome both of my picky guys like it I did use fresh shredded cheddar cheese instead of slices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Random Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
this was a nice dish but needed something extra as it was a bit bland. i even used some of the suggestions but would need to add more of the extra herbs atc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States