Rice Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is like a loaded rice bowl (easier to accept than a weird version of lasagna). Delicious (and probably even better with a little bit of sausage but I didn't have any on hand - it needs a tiny bit more flavor). The egg makes the dish comfortingly rich. Used brown rice made in the rice cooker instead of white and could have gone as much as 5-6 cups for a 9x13 dish (wasn't sure how big a 3 quart casserole was). Four cups barely made 2 layers. Doubled the beef and found that was just right for the 9x13. I made each layer meticulously and am now wondering if it was even worth it - the layers are preserved in the pan but once you spoon it out.....it's literally like a loaded rice bowl. Will probably save myself the trouble and make 3 layers next time and add some sauteed onions to the meat sauce for the hubby. Pretty decent cooking-out-of-my-cabinet meal though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
It is really rather bland made as is, and needs alterations to bring out flavors. I gave two stars because, of posting an easy to follow recipe and the other star for posting an inexpensive meal that is quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Gluten free, and you don't really miss the noodles! My hubby requested pepperoni on one half of this lasagna, under the top cheese layer. I added 2 little onions to the ground beef just to sneak in more veggies. Very good, excellent for leftovers. It is pretty oozie after you take it from the oven... so I let it set for about 15 minutes. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This was pretty good. I won't say I liked it as well as lasagna with noodles. But it was a great way to use up leftover rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
We really liked this. I used ground chicken but next time I would use low fat ground beef or ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by masarap
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I added some green olives and it turned out great because of olive's sour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was great! All the flavors of lasagna but none of the hassle. My toddler gobbled it up. I still prefer the real thing, of course, but this is a yummy way to use up the half bag of rice that always seems to be lurking in my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I used ground chicken instead of beef. It was incredibly easy to make. And even my super picky 5 year old had seconds ...and asked if we had left overs the next day! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I was not expecting this to taste so good. Quick easy way to use up leftover rice from chinese carry out and some ground beef. Even my picky family members liked it! I did add some minced garlic to the beef while cooking just for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Very good, gluten free and extremely easy to make. I also left it in the oven a bit longer to make the cheese bubbly and used ricotta in lieu of the cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States