Rice Cooker Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
It will boil over, unless one uses a 24 to 36 cups rice cooker. Milk tends to boil over when heated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
What a mess! Warning : may ruin your rice cooker plus I've tasted better rice pudding from a can. Do yourself a favor and avoid this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is the worst rice pudding I've ever tasted! Dry and disappointing! And it destroyed my rice cooker and made a horrible sticky mess all over the kitchen counter. If I could have, I'd have rated this NO stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Are you kidding! Boiled over 3 times! Better off making rice in rice cooker with water then adding vanilla cinnamon and 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk . Done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I cut back the recipe to a serving for three and the milk boiled out of my rice cooker. I have a small rice cooker but thought it would work. So after an hour my rice still isn't cooked. Make this with pre cooked rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Galan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton Lake, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This seemed to be a easy way to make a great rice pudding in a rice cooker. It didn't turn out so great for me. The milk boiled over and out of my rice cooker. It was quite a mess to clean up. I didn't think I would have the boiling over issues that others reported due to my large cooker. The final product was far from what I had expected. The flavor was good, however the texture/consistency was not what I would associate with pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I liked the taste of the end result of this but had issues with the preparation. I cut the recipe in half and it still spilled over after about 20 minutes. I had to take the lid off my rice cooker to keep if from spilling over. It took close to an hour to thicken up and finish cooking. I didn't need to add any extra milk at the end. The husband really loved it and that is saying a lot because he normally hates rice pudding! I am giving it 4 stars because it really did taste good but next time I will not attempt to cook it in a rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I thought this tasted pretty good. Although, my rice cooker is a smaller one and so I halved the recipe. I also added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and about 1/4 cup of raisins. Half way through I stirred it and when I came back to the kitchen it has sputtered milk onto the counter. I am going to assume that was because I didn't put the lid on just right. It was quick and easy to make and not overly sweet. I just added a little milk to my bowl and didn't measure it. It is good plain too. I still though prefer the creamier stove top rice pudding that has eggs also added. However, this was still a fine treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Turned out great using whole milk and the automatic setting on my Aroma rice cooker. Cooking time was closer to one hour on automatic. I considered not adding the additional milk at the end but was glad I did as the rice soaked up the milk for a more creamy result. Also added a teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Perhaps I have a different kind of rice cooker than others who reviewed this (though I really don't think I do...), but it simply did not cook the rice completely. Truly disappointed as it would have been so easy to make rice pudding had it worked. I even gave it a second shot and set the cooker at a longer setting, to no avail. Look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States