Rice Cooker Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I'm using a rice STEAMER, I halved the recipe (4 servings) and had to run the machine through 2 cycles. I will add vanilla and SUGGEST salt. I used short grain rice due to my inventory. All came out great! BUT before you add the second round of milk, add in your cinnamon at that time. If not serving it immediately, but making some for later at home. Be ready to just add in more milk!! I'm fine with it..and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claycub

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
o.k. so my rice cooker couldn't handle this one. After 20 min the rice was still completely raw and then when I checked again 15 min later, milk had overflowed all over my counter. And the rice was still hard. So I stirred it and added more milk, let it cook a bit more. the cooker went off, then i added more milk, let it sit with warm, still hard rice, then added 1/2 cup water and set it back to cook - I was pretty determine - and it popped again, rice still had a firm center - not really al dente yet. so I'm typing this while my 4 year old and I was to see if the rice will soften. the taste is good, its already a bit burned, but not really burned so that it tastes bad. I also added a couple teaspoons of orange blossom water to add flavor - that's what I normally do on the stove top. I would recommend to anyone out there to cook the rice in water first in the cooker and then add the milk, I think that would work much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
It will boil over, unless one uses a 24 to 36 cups rice cooker. Milk tends to boil over when heated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
What a mess! Warning : may ruin your rice cooker plus I've tasted better rice pudding from a can. Do yourself a favor and avoid this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is the worst rice pudding I've ever tasted! Dry and disappointing! And it destroyed my rice cooker and made a horrible sticky mess all over the kitchen counter. If I could have, I'd have rated this NO stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Are you kidding! Boiled over 3 times! Better off making rice in rice cooker with water then adding vanilla cinnamon and 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk . Done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I cut back the recipe to a serving for three and the milk boiled out of my rice cooker. I have a small rice cooker but thought it would work. So after an hour my rice still isn't cooked. Make this with pre cooked rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Galan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton Lake, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This seemed to be a easy way to make a great rice pudding in a rice cooker. It didn't turn out so great for me. The milk boiled over and out of my rice cooker. It was quite a mess to clean up. I didn't think I would have the boiling over issues that others reported due to my large cooker. The final product was far from what I had expected. The flavor was good, however the texture/consistency was not what I would associate with pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I liked the taste of the end result of this but had issues with the preparation. I cut the recipe in half and it still spilled over after about 20 minutes. I had to take the lid off my rice cooker to keep if from spilling over. It took close to an hour to thicken up and finish cooking. I didn't need to add any extra milk at the end. The husband really loved it and that is saying a lot because he normally hates rice pudding! I am giving it 4 stars because it really did taste good but next time I will not attempt to cook it in a rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I thought this tasted pretty good. Although, my rice cooker is a smaller one and so I halved the recipe. I also added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and about 1/4 cup of raisins. Half way through I stirred it and when I came back to the kitchen it has sputtered milk onto the counter. I am going to assume that was because I didn't put the lid on just right. It was quick and easy to make and not overly sweet. I just added a little milk to my bowl and didn't measure it. It is good plain too. I still though prefer the creamier stove top rice pudding that has eggs also added. However, this was still a fine treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States