Rice Cooker Crawfish Tails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
My first recipe in my rice cooker, it turned out great! My cooker is 3quart, had a little bit of liquid run over the side after it started cooking. Spicy flavor just right to warm you up on a cool rainy night. Will definately make again. Thanks 8 )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This is very good and quick and easy will be making this again very soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I started out with good intentions when I stopped to pick up crawfish tails to make this recipe. However, after being delayed in traffic on an empty stomach, I decided to just eat one or two of the already cooked tails. Well one or two led to just about all of them! So, once I got home, I used shrimp that I had in the freezer. This is a quick, easy, and delicious recipe. I sauteed the onions and bell pepper in 1 tablespoon of olive oil in the cooker before adding any of the other ingredients. I didn't use butter. Also, rather than add the green onions at the beginning, I stirred them into the rice after it finished cooking. A very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I was skeptical about cooking all this in my rice cooker, and that everything would be cooked all the way through. Rest assured, it works great. In addition to working as-is, it's a fine base recipe for variations depending on what you have on hand. The crawfish is good, but you could make it cheaper (save money on pre-peeled crawfish or time on peeling it) with shrimp, tilapia, catfish, etc., etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
We substituted shrimp for the crawfish tails, but left everything else in the recipe the same. It was outstanding! Very easy recipe & the best part is that it only gets a cutting board and your rice cooker dirty - almost no clean-up! For the cajun seasoning, I used the creole seasoning mix here on AllRecipes. Both my husband & I agreed that it was some of the best food we've had in a while - and the easiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
We're from New Orleans and we love this recipe! It is so quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Absolutely LOVE this recipe! I sautéed the onions and bell pepper in butter before adding to the rice. I also added half of a small jar of Velveeta Cheese Whiz to the mixture. Added a cheesy taste (which we LOVED). Served with garlic Texas toast. I expected leftovers for my lunch the following day...no such luck! My hubby went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I omitted the bell peppers and added celery. I also do not have a rice cooker, so I just sauteed the onions and celery in the butter until soft, then added the everything else to the skillet, covered, and simmered until the liquid was absorbed. After tasting, I decided to add some garlic powder and turmeric. It was excellent, and I will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This is Crawfish Jambalaya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Love this recipe!! I have never been able to pull off a jambalaya type recipe, which is what this recipe resembles. It came out perfect! I plan to try it using chicken and andouille sausage next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States