Rice Cereal Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Oooh! These are really good! Made them just a bit more healthy by using all bran cereal, honey in place of corn syrup, and cut the white sugar amount in half. I put in a few cups of granola for the bran too! I boiled the peanut butter mixture over the stove and it was having trouble getting to the right consistency, so I added applesauce until it was runny enough to coat the cereal mixture. About 1/2 cup of applesauce worked great. A new favorite! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Wow! Great recipe, Janowa. My grandchildren love these, as do I!They gobbled up so many, I was afraid they'd be bouncing off the walls on a sugar high. This morning I made another batch, this time I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup brown (the dried fruits have lots already), I added Wheat germ and ground almonds for additional calcium, Vit B and minerals. They were tasty, too, and my grandchildren won't even suspect that there's wheat germ in them.Thanks for this great recipe that becomes a roadmap to better nutrition for our kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Great recipe- my husband loves them and he is a die hard 'cliff bar' eater. I read the other reviews regarding the need for more liquid to hold the bars together, and I found it wasn't really needed if you followed a few tips. First the peanut butter mixture needs to be really hot(like the recipe says- BUBBLING)- even after you mix in the powdered milk- if not it is virtually impossible to stir it into the cereal mixture. Also, really press the mixture hard into the greased pan- pack it in and it will stay together. I found that we wanted the bars packed tight so that they would be more sturdy when packed for the trail without falling apart. Try adding different fruits and white chocolate instead of semi-sweet. My husband loved banana chips, dates and white chocolate with the peanut butter. Again- GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Gomlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is the best recipe for homemade "power bars" I have found on the internet. I did cut out the sugar, but added pre-sweetened protein powder instead of milk powder. I decreased the rice cereal to 6 cups, and changed the peanut butter to almond butter for a healthier bar. These are so much tastier than store bought--super processed ones!!! Thanks for the recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDJEN323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
These are delicious, and although they aren't low in fat or calories, they are a healthy boost of energy. I used half honey and half cornsyrup, , dried cranberries instead of cherries, and did not add the sugar in order to cut back on calories. I am glad I didn't, as they would have been way too sweet. Perfect snack for hiking, day trips, or busy events. I will definitley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I sent these to my honey in Iraq, and the guys LOVED them!!! They travel very well, and I made some minor changes...replaced the chocolate chips with M&M's (with 108 degree heat over there, they hold up MUCH better!!), and I used dried mixed berries and dried apples - coarsely chopped, used honey and corn syrup, but left the sugar, and no sesame seeds...had a hard time mixing but I thin the PB mixture needs to be reallllly hot for it to work. Smashed into a 9x13 pan, then chilled in the freezer before cutting into bars. Wrapped in foil, then plastic baggies,and away they went! That was a week ago, and they already "need" more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGinCOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This was really good - like a healthier version of rice krispies squares. I added some flax seed and left out the chocolate chips. I also replaced half the sugar with honey after reading reviews about the dryness. It turned out perfect and held together beautifully. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I loved this! I altered it a bit for my tastes, and what I had around. Instead of apricots and cherrries, I just used cranberries. I used milk chocolate chips, and used half corn syrup/half honey. I also only did about 1/4 C sugar, because I used sweetened protein powder and wheat germ in place of the powdered milk. Unfortunately, I had no almond extract. I altered it quite a bit, but that's the fun of this one! Very adaptable to tastes and what you have on hand. It's great for snacking when you're too busy for a full meal! Play with it and munch! Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I had a little trouble with this recipe at first. The peanut butter mixture didn't seem to be enough to glue the cereal together, so I had to make extra. Also, I found heating the peanut butter and syrup in the microwave messy and more trouble than it's worth. Next time, I will cook the mixture in a big pot on the stove, then gradually add the cereal, which I think will help it mix more evenly. The end result, though, is fantastic, and much better than those expensive energy bars that you buy in the store. They are great for breakfast and a mid-afternoon snack. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC1126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Good Recipe! Worth the time and effort to make - way better than anything you could buy ready made like this. I made these especially for my teenage basketball player daughter. I thought they would be something she could grab and take to eat before or after a game. I did add an additional cup of peanut butter as mentioned by others for easier blending of ingredients. I cut and wrapped them individually for freezing. I don't think I'd make any changes on the fruits use when I make them again. The combination of the flavors of the seeds and dried fruits worked together perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States