Rice Cereal Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Wow! Great recipe, Janowa. My grandchildren love these, as do I!They gobbled up so many, I was afraid they'd be bouncing off the walls on a sugar high. This morning I made another batch, this time I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup brown (the dried fruits have lots already), I added Wheat germ and ground almonds for additional calcium, Vit B and minerals. They were tasty, too, and my grandchildren won't even suspect that there's wheat germ in them.Thanks for this great recipe that becomes a roadmap to better nutrition for our kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
These are good...probably better if I followed the recipe closer! I used Splenda in place of the corn syrup and sugar and found a trail mix with sunflower seeds, papaya, apples, raisins, cranberries and nuts. The only change I'd make to the way I did it is to add corn syrup instead of making the simple syrup... I also heated up the peanut butter mixture on the stove. I'll probably be making these often! Thanks for a great recipe! It's so versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I had a little trouble with this recipe at first. The peanut butter mixture didn't seem to be enough to glue the cereal together, so I had to make extra. Also, I found heating the peanut butter and syrup in the microwave messy and more trouble than it's worth. Next time, I will cook the mixture in a big pot on the stove, then gradually add the cereal, which I think will help it mix more evenly. The end result, though, is fantastic, and much better than those expensive energy bars that you buy in the store. They are great for breakfast and a mid-afternoon snack. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC1126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This recipe was very good, definitely a repeat. I changed some of the dried fruits and chose a more nutritious puffed grain, but kept the same proportions. Next time I may add 1/3 cup more sticky stuff, maybe honey or soy lecithin. It was just a touch crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
These weren't as good as they sounded. They laid around for a whole week of skiing with a condo full of people and didn't get eaten. I couldn't get them to stick together and the choc and pnut butter overpowered them. I might try them without these 2 ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
These are so much better than the ones you buy prepackaged. They work just as well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This was really good - like a healthier version of rice krispies squares. I added some flax seed and left out the chocolate chips. I also replaced half the sugar with honey after reading reviews about the dryness. It turned out perfect and held together beautifully. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
My family loved these bars! The only thing I did different was to add 1 cup extra peanut butter so it stuck together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Good Recipe! Worth the time and effort to make - way better than anything you could buy ready made like this. I made these especially for my teenage basketball player daughter. I thought they would be something she could grab and take to eat before or after a game. I did add an additional cup of peanut butter as mentioned by others for easier blending of ingredients. I cut and wrapped them individually for freezing. I don't think I'd make any changes on the fruits use when I make them again. The combination of the flavors of the seeds and dried fruits worked together perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
These are delicious, and although they aren't low in fat or calories, they are a healthy boost of energy. I used half honey and half cornsyrup, , dried cranberries instead of cherries, and did not add the sugar in order to cut back on calories. I am glad I didn't, as they would have been way too sweet. Perfect snack for hiking, day trips, or busy events. I will definitley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States