Rice Cereal Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
These were incrediblely easy to make and even better to eat. Next time I make these I think I will try and add in some bits of apples for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Followed the recipe as written, except for substituting cranberries for the cherries. Couldn't get it to stick together no matter how hard I packed it - wish I'd added more peanut butter as one reviewer recommended. Anyway, it's a delicious snack! Before packing it into the pan I used, we sprinkled the mixture on top of vanilla yogurt and WOW! Would be great on ice cream, too! This is a versatile little snack. Makes a bunch of dirty dishes, but very tasty and pretty decent nutrition. The whole family, including two little ones, loved it - just wish I could use it like bars. Will definitely try again with more peanut butter next time. Update: Freezes well and sticks together better after frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I loved this! I altered it a bit for my tastes, and what I had around. Instead of apricots and cherrries, I just used cranberries. I used milk chocolate chips, and used half corn syrup/half honey. I also only did about 1/4 C sugar, because I used sweetened protein powder and wheat germ in place of the powdered milk. Unfortunately, I had no almond extract. I altered it quite a bit, but that's the fun of this one! Very adaptable to tastes and what you have on hand. It's great for snacking when you're too busy for a full meal! Play with it and munch! Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
definetely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
WOW! These are kicked up rice krispie treats. Perfect amounts of all ingredients. Can mix up the dried fruit combos but otherwise don't change a thing. The kids are gobbling them up!!! Thanks for the recipe. What a hit. 3/16/10 Update: tried to cut down on the c.syrup and sugar and use applesauce in their place. Don't. Won't hold together. Should have taken my own advice and stick to the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This a 10 in my book! I love this recipe! can't say enough how much we love this energy bar. I take it to work with me and munch on it all day and I never get hungery! Kids love it too. Try it you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Very good energy bar, yummy, required cals, easily chewed, no melting chocolate (in pocket), no sugar rush,however, I'm wondering how you fit 15 or so cups of food into a jellyroll pan - I transferred it into a lasagna dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I give these five stars but for some reason my kids didn't like as much as I did. I didn;t have cherries or apricots so I didn't add. Nest time I will only use 1/2 the amount of sugar called for just to make a little healthier. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Oooh! These are really good! Made them just a bit more healthy by using all bran cereal, honey in place of corn syrup, and cut the white sugar amount in half. I put in a few cups of granola for the bran too! I boiled the peanut butter mixture over the stove and it was having trouble getting to the right consistency, so I added applesauce until it was runny enough to coat the cereal mixture. About 1/2 cup of applesauce worked great. A new favorite! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I replaced the 1/2 cup dried apricots and 1/2 cup dried cherries with 1 cup of chopped mixed dried fruit (pears, peaches, apricots, prunes and apples). It was absolutely delicious. All the adults who tried it adored it. The children however weren't so unanimously enthused (too healthy, I guess...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Strasbourg, Alsace, France
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States