Rice Cereal Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These were OK. Kids didn't like them at all. My husband and I enjoyed them as a healthier alternative to sweeter treats. I used flax seeds in place of sesame seeds. Only used dates and golden raisins, no other fruits. They fell apart easily, making them tough to eat. Toasting the sunflower seeds gave them a very nutty aroma and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this recipe with some minor changes according to what I had in the pantry. I formed them into little balls for my grandson, and we call these 'cookie balls'. Great to make in the summer when you don't want the oven on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
this was yummy, gave to friends, neighbors, & even took some to a potluck; every body loved it & several people also asked for the recipe. I used one large bag of dried mixed fruit from sun maid. instead of buy each seperately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I'm really enjoying these bars. I cut back on the rice krispies to 6 cups, cut back the sugar to 1/2 c.(used brown), and ran out of corn syrup so I had to make up the difference with honey(about 1/4 c.). Make sure you watch your sunflower seeds and sesame seeds closely when toasting, they go from toasted to burned very quickly! I will make these again for a semi-healthy snack option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These are really good. I used walnuts, ground up instead of sunflower seeds because I didn't have any. I used 3/4 c honey and 1/4 c corn syrup and 1 c brown sugar. They were quite sweet. I will try different mixtures of frit and nuts next time. I will also only use honey and brown sugar. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I found this the most frustrating slice I have ever made. The peanut mixture was no way near enough in quantity to bind the dry ingredients. I ended up tossing in an extra whole 500gm jar of honey and putting all the ingredients into a large pot on the stove on low heat to be able to mix it all together. The end result tastes okay but really sweet (little wonder). I think I'll stick to my regular muesli bar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bendigo, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I'm giving this ***** because there is SO mch you can do with this recipe!!! I used sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds along with craisins and dried cherries. I used only honey and added more peanut butter but still found that they were a tad crumbly..I think I'll add 1/4 cup more peanut butter next time...Took these to a soccer tournament and the girls devoured them!!!!! Great healthy boost for between matches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I sent these to my honey in Iraq, and the guys LOVED them!!! They travel very well, and I made some minor changes...replaced the chocolate chips with M&M's (with 108 degree heat over there, they hold up MUCH better!!), and I used dried mixed berries and dried apples - coarsely chopped, used honey and corn syrup, but left the sugar, and no sesame seeds...had a hard time mixing but I thin the PB mixture needs to be reallllly hot for it to work. Smashed into a 9x13 pan, then chilled in the freezer before cutting into bars. Wrapped in foil, then plastic baggies,and away they went! That was a week ago, and they already "need" more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGinCOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Great Recipe! I cut the sugar in half and used half honey and half corn syrup as others suggested and it is sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Made bars exactly as recipe said. Took them to a Mite Hockey (kids ages 7-9)tournament. The kids gobbled them down and parents were happy to have kids have a healthy snack. The kids played harder then they ever have and took 2nd at the State tournament! Maybe these bars were the reason? I did have trouble fitting the whole recipe in the jelly roll pan. I'll try a larger cookie sheet next time or maybe something with higher sides so it doesn't overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States