Rice Cereal Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
PEANUT FREE VARIATION!!!- We have a very sensitive peanut allergy in my family, so I substituted sunflower butter in place of peanut butter. Because sunflower butter is much more liquid than peanut butter is, I decided to use melted marshmallows (a la rice crispie treats) instead of corn syrup, to sticky it up more. Unfortunately, I didn't use enough marshmallows, so the bars didn't stick together as bars. But it did make a great granola! We just crumbled it up and ate it like trail mix. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShandeeV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Very tasty. I used a mixture of 90% glucose and 10% honey because I didn't have corn syrup. I also didn't read the directions carefully and brought the peanut butter/sweetener concoction to a simmer over the stove. I got distracted, so it began to burn just a little. Because I overcooked the binder/sugar/PB concoction and my largest bowl barely contained everything, it was difficult to stir it all together. Once the PB/sugar mixture cooled it was very stiff. I tried kneading it with my (clean) hands which worked better. Didn't have a jelly roll pan, so I used a cookie sheet. After I cut the cooled bars, I had about 20% of the cereal, nuts and fruits and cooled PB mixture fall off. Hating to waste it, I tried it as a breakfast cereal. It was DELICIOUS! And the bars are, too! A great accompaniment to a cup of morning coffee and a healthy snack for my kid's lunchbox. Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Although I dislike when people alter a recipe and rate it based on that, I'm about to join the throngs...I omitted the sugar and used honey for half of the corn syrup. These are exactly the texture that I've been looking for in a chewy granola bar, but until now, hadn't found. This recipe is going to be so versatile and customizable. For those who experienced problems with them holding together, perhaps I can offer a suggestion...It took about 8 min. in my microwave for the peanut butter mixture to come to a good boil, stirring every min. to avoid scorching. After I stirred it into the cereal and fruit, I used my hands to knead it all together in the bowl, then dumped it into the pan. You must really press down firmly to get it to hold together. (You should hear some crunching of the cereal.) I used my bench scraper to score it, then cooled it completely. These held together better than any others I have made. Thanks, Janowa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYPRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These were great. Its a really good recipe to use up random leftovers in your house. I used a combination of 2 cereals that no one would eat. I think it was a kashi kids cereal and a multi flake cereal and just crushed it a little bit. For the fruit I only had dates, crasins, and a little coconut so that's what went in :) Just tried to stick to the same amount of each...2 cups of fruit and 7 cups of cereal. Did not have any chocolate chips either. I also substituted 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the white and 1/2 cup steel cut oats for the rolled. MY KIDS ARE LOVING THEM! Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These area great! At first I thought they were going to be really crabbily. But my packaging helped out with that problem. I cut individual bars and put them in individual food saver packages. So I could take them backpacking with me. The vacuum packing must have really pressed things together and they turned out .... well better than the one's you buy in the store for about $1.25 each. So my recommendation is to press the heck out of them on the cookie sheet or where ever you have the bars sitting to cool. I mean really press the heck out of them. I also think the modifications to this could be close to endless in terms of what to add to change the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shore Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Just made my second batch of these. First batch didn't have chocolate chips in them and I added coconut and some various dried fruits I had on hand. Those were a huge hit! This time I added the chocolate chips and notice that they melted the second the warm peanut butter goo hit them so these will definately taste different. I bulked this recipe up with pumpkin seeds, walnuts, coconut, some left over chowmein noodles (just to get rid of them) and some dried mango and dried banana. I also left out the white sugar and used half corn syrup and half sugar free maple syrup and I used organic crunchy peanut butter and soy protein powder in place of the powdered milk. I sampled a clump before I pressed it in the pan and it was tasty so I am pretty sure the bars will also be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Taste was good, but mine crumbled apart. Ended up putting most in a ziploc in the freezer to sprinkle on ice cream or yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
The taste is absolutely awesome and addictive. I made the recipe exactly as suggested. The bars did tend to fall apart a bit, but maybe I needed to pack it tighter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
kids loved it...nice and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These were OK. Kids didn't like them at all. My husband and I enjoyed them as a healthier alternative to sweeter treats. I used flax seeds in place of sesame seeds. Only used dates and golden raisins, no other fruits. They fell apart easily, making them tough to eat. Toasting the sunflower seeds gave them a very nutty aroma and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States