Rice Cereal Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
These are so much better than the ones you buy prepackaged. They work just as well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
My husband was going backpacking so I made these for him and his pal. He said they held him from breakfast til dinner one day. I subbed almonds and walnuts and only used raisins and apricots. So it was way nutty, but figured, hey, just more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
My family loved these bars! The only thing I did different was to add 1 cup extra peanut butter so it stuck together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Yum! I substituted here and there: added Fiber One Buds for some of the rice cereal, added wheat germ, didn't have powdered milk. I couldn't get it to stick no matter how hard I packed it. So I melted some marshmallows and dumped it all in, mixed, and repressed it into the pan. Worked great. I figured, marshmallow rice crispy treats stay together, so, why not these? Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was a GREAT and tasty recipe - what good is it if the kids won't eat it; they loved it. I made it for the swim team. I liked all the flavors especially the toasted sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This was really good - like a healthier version of rice krispies squares. I added some flax seed and left out the chocolate chips. I also replaced half the sugar with honey after reading reviews about the dryness. It turned out perfect and held together beautifully. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Good Recipe! Worth the time and effort to make - way better than anything you could buy ready made like this. I made these especially for my teenage basketball player daughter. I thought they would be something she could grab and take to eat before or after a game. I did add an additional cup of peanut butter as mentioned by others for easier blending of ingredients. I cut and wrapped them individually for freezing. I don't think I'd make any changes on the fruits use when I make them again. The combination of the flavors of the seeds and dried fruits worked together perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
These are delicious, and although they aren't low in fat or calories, they are a healthy boost of energy. I used half honey and half cornsyrup, , dried cranberries instead of cherries, and did not add the sugar in order to cut back on calories. I am glad I didn't, as they would have been way too sweet. Perfect snack for hiking, day trips, or busy events. I will definitley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Great recipe- my husband loves them and he is a die hard 'cliff bar' eater. I read the other reviews regarding the need for more liquid to hold the bars together, and I found it wasn't really needed if you followed a few tips. First the peanut butter mixture needs to be really hot(like the recipe says- BUBBLING)- even after you mix in the powdered milk- if not it is virtually impossible to stir it into the cereal mixture. Also, really press the mixture hard into the greased pan- pack it in and it will stay together. I found that we wanted the bars packed tight so that they would be more sturdy when packed for the trail without falling apart. Try adding different fruits and white chocolate instead of semi-sweet. My husband loved banana chips, dates and white chocolate with the peanut butter. Again- GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Gomlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is the best recipe for homemade "power bars" I have found on the internet. I did cut out the sugar, but added pre-sweetened protein powder instead of milk powder. I decreased the rice cereal to 6 cups, and changed the peanut butter to almond butter for a healthier bar. These are so much tastier than store bought--super processed ones!!! Thanks for the recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDJEN323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States