Rice Cereal Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Fantastic! My wife and I loved them! I think next time I will pump the brakes on the sesame seeds....they tend to overpower. A very versatile recipe, that I look forward to playing with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
these were EXCELLENT!! I will never buy another granola bar. My kids loved them. I made them before a camping/canoe trip (as the store bought were just too expensive) and they were a hit! One bar carried you through for lunch easily. They're very calorie dense. I used honey in place of the corn syrup and brown sugar in place of white. Other than that I followed the recipe faithfully and was not disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
These are incredibly easy to put together, and you can adjust the fruit etc. to make them taste to your liking. I used a multi-grain rolled cereal that had oats, wheat, rye, and barley in place of the rolled oats. Also, I left out the white sugar, and added 1/4 cup brown sugar and used organic Agave nectar in place of the corn syrup. Outstanding! They were still a bit sweet for me, so next time I'm going to try brown rice syrup. I hike a ton, and these really give me the sustained energy I need. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky
Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These turned out good! I use honey instead of corn syrup, and a flavored protein powder instead of powdered milk. The great thing about this recipe is that it can be customized to your own liking! There are a lot of ingredients that can be switched out for different ones. This is MUCH cheaper than buying energy bars at the store. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara jean the cooking queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Great bars. Very tasty! Didn't have all ingredients on hand so substitued some and cut sugar amount in half so not as sweet! Will be making these again! Oh, and you don't bake them so that is why they burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
These are great and easy to make! My husband is a big cyclist and these little bars can keep him going on long rides. You can really vary what is inside them based on personal preferences and what you have on hand. We substituted honey for the corn syrup and decided that we would probably leave out the sesame seeds next time. A great way to save money on expensive energy bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These bars were good, but I was very disappointed when after all that work there is no instruction for baking. I baked at maybe 350 for 25 min and they burned, therefore ruining the taste. Next time I will watch them closely and cook on a lower temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Excellent.....everyone loved these. This will be something I make on a regular basis vs. the store bought versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISHME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Best Energy bar recipe ever, I love how the recipe is so versatile, I used a Granola Cereal with mixed dried fruit, I added chopped raisins, cranberries, and mixed nuts. I substituted the milk for a chocolate protein powder and cut used 1/4 cup brown sugar. I also heated the Peanut butter mix on the stove, as it would have been too messy in the microwave, when the mixture was bubbling i poured it over the granola and mixed like I've never mixed before. Punched it down till it was nice and tight cut and cooled for 2hrs. Bagged them and sent them with my hunney who was going on a 4day hike. He loved them and so did his fellow hikers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States