Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Too easy! So simple and very good. I did not have a can of onion soup so I substituted a can of beef broth and minced 1/4 of an onion. I also seasoned with a sprinkle of garlic powder, seasoned salt, and black pepper. After making the dish, I then thought instead of adding the dry seasonings, one could dash the recipe with a little worcestershire. Whatever way you choose to make this recipe, keep in mind that it's very good on it's own so it does not need more than a sprinkle of seasonings. We will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Great recipe! Like others suggested, I pre-cooked the rice before combining it with the liquids and used oven instead of microwave. Half an hour on 375 degrees without a cover and I had delicious rice with almost no work from me! Thanks for sharing, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Wow! My hubby, myself and my 3 year old LOVED this! I used just a 10 oz can of french onion soup and two cans of the cream of mushroom. Only 2 ozs butter and cooked it the 10 mins, stirred, cooked another 15 and it was WONDERFUL! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
My boyfriend's sister gave me this recipe a few months back and now we make it all the time at home. It is so easy because there is not a lot of work to put into it and it can cook in the microwave while you are preparing other dishes. However we use a different variation of this recipe.. 1.) Melt the butter in the microwave by itself. 2.) Then add the rice. 3.) Pour 1 can of french onion soup & 1 can of beef consomme on top of rice- Do not stir! 4.) Cook for 20 minutes. Then stir it up and put it back in the microwave for 5-10 more minutes to make sure the rice is fully cooked. You will LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
Easy and Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was really excellent! I substituted water and one packet of onion soup mix for the can of soup and also precooked regular rice as many others did. It turned out great in the microwave. The only thing I didn't care for was the butter - there was entirely too much. Decreasing 1 stick of butter by 1/4 would most likely be fine. The casserole was literally swimming in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Followed the recipe, my daughter liked it but it had way........ to much butter. It was almost floating in it, had to had some whole wheat bread crumbs to soak it up. Don't know if I will try it again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe was really good! I made it for my boyfriend and myself, and he really loved it since he doesn't like french onion. I decided to make a few modifications though. I cooked the rice in chicken broth until the rice was half way done, then baked it in the oven on 350 since I'm not big on making dishes in the microwave. But I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carpediem816

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This was fantastic! I didn't have 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, so I used a can full of 2% milk instead. We also used brown rice because that's what we buy. The nuttiness of the brown rice paired really well with the mushroom flavor. I think I will stick with my variations because we liked it so well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Great and easy rice dish. I made this for my 12 year old birthday party (Asian themed) Well short and sweet the kiddos loved it. I did a different version as well on Sunday and it was even better. I used 1 pack of instant browm rice and 1 pack of instant white rice. 1 can of condensed mushroom soup and 1 can of milk, 2 tsp butter about 1 cup of veggie broth in stead of oinon soup. After I baked it I topped it with parmesean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertonsthe1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States