Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
My boyfriend's sister gave me this recipe a few months back and now we make it all the time at home. It is so easy because there is not a lot of work to put into it and it can cook in the microwave while you are preparing other dishes. However we use a different variation of this recipe.. 1.) Melt the butter in the microwave by itself. 2.) Then add the rice. 3.) Pour 1 can of french onion soup & 1 can of beef consomme on top of rice- Do not stir! 4.) Cook for 20 minutes. Then stir it up and put it back in the microwave for 5-10 more minutes to make sure the rice is fully cooked. You will LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
The taste was good, but mine needed more liquid and a longer cooking time. It was a little chewy even after those adjustments. Better than just plain rice though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Great recipe! Like others suggested, I pre-cooked the rice before combining it with the liquids and used oven instead of microwave. Half an hour on 375 degrees without a cover and I had delicious rice with almost no work from me! Thanks for sharing, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I don't know if it was just because my microwave is weird or something, but I did as the recipe said and it ran out of liquid after about 15 minutes and the rice on top started burning and getting all hard so I had to stop, and the rest of the rice was still undercooked. It was also much too salty, I think I will cut the soups and add extra water next time. The flavor was nice though, I think I just need to adjust the cooking time and amount of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe was really good! I made it for my boyfriend and myself, and he really loved it since he doesn't like french onion. I decided to make a few modifications though. I cooked the rice in chicken broth until the rice was half way done, then baked it in the oven on 350 since I'm not big on making dishes in the microwave. But I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carpediem816

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I think this was a good starter recipe. I made this on the stovetop. Mixed one can cream of mushroom, one can cream of chicken with about 1 1/2 cups rice. Let it simmer together, mixing occasionally. It probably took 20 minutes. My microwave is old and this would have taken forever to do. Good change up from plain old rice-my hubby and I loved it, kids did not eat much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Made as directed, this is not worth making again. It is easy and inexpensive, but that's the best I can say about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
KEEPER!! This rice was a big hit with my 6 year old who is a VERY picky eater. She ate 3 BIG servings. WOW! I also loved it. Very creamy and flavorful. I did follow the recipe exactly but I think it would also taste good with 1 can of the cream of mushroom. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yulee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
THis was good, fast and easy! The only thing I did differently as include 1 can of cream of mushroom as opposed to 2. It just seemed like plenty of liquid with that and the 1 can of french onion. Overall great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Too easy! So simple and very good. I did not have a can of onion soup so I substituted a can of beef broth and minced 1/4 of an onion. I also seasoned with a sprinkle of garlic powder, seasoned salt, and black pepper. After making the dish, I then thought instead of adding the dry seasonings, one could dash the recipe with a little worcestershire. Whatever way you choose to make this recipe, keep in mind that it's very good on it's own so it does not need more than a sprinkle of seasonings. We will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States