Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jen Pahl
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I don't normally do this, but I made a lot of changes. But, I think the integrity of the dish is still here. Also, if you're a Packers fan you could serve this for a game, with the modifications I made it comes out green and gold! I used mozzarella as the cheese, grilled corn off the cob, added 1 whole diced green pepper, and a teaspoon of black pepper. Be sure to get some of the green from the onion in there, too. Lastly, be sure to use a 1.5 quart baking dish or you'll run out of room. Everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great simple way to change up rice, I made it with 1 cup of rice, used lots of cheese but I would put butter in the warm rice before I tossed it with everything else for flavour and lubrication but turned out great! Browned cheese on top and S&P to your taste is required IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hpojames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanna, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I substituted frozen peas for the corn, and used a can of evaporated milk instead of regular milk. Came out of the oven thick, creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
So easy to make, and tasted great! Lots of cheese which I liked. Added small amount of salt & pepper just to tone the taste for my liking. Wonderful way to use left-over rice. One thing that I regretted was; I didn't have a sour cream in my pantry, so I omitted, but still I loved it! I am sure with the sour cream, the original recipe would rock! Will make it again (with sour cream, of course!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I needed something quick for a pot luck and had everything in the house. I never use white rice, I mix brown rice with equal amounts of wild rice for a nice texture and flavor. Everyone's reviews were great and I rely on this a lot. I added half pepper jack and half cheddar, and sprinkled some garlic powder, used the whole can of drained corn and a good cup of chopped green onions. It is delicious even cold before I baked. Will make this again especially for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dablacks77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Onions were too strong. Needs more spice/seasoning overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My 13 year old son love this. It is a great side dish with any meal. Add your own seasonings to make it yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was a very good recipe - I had to substitute a mexican 4 cheese fiesta blend for the jack cheese, because that's what I had, but everything else was as written. Delicious and quick, good comfort type food, and I imagine it will be quite adaptable to a full meal once I have time to play around with tossing in some chicken or ham, or maybe some different veggies. This stays in my recipe box. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Stitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I added a 1/2 cup of grated parmesan.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was very yummy. I used brown rice and added a few mild green chilis and it gave it a little more flavor and kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States