Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
They were very good, and different! Here’s a tip I came across recently: to finely chop your ground beef after cooking, use a pastry blender. It’s perfect for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I had guests for dinner and needed to come up with something tasty for dinner with ingredients on hand. I was unsure if they would actually hold together without something to bind them other than melted cheese. To my surprise they held together nicely. I did add a bit more in the way of seasonings (Italian) and I made my own marinara sauce rather than using something already prepared. I used 2 lbs of ground beef and 2cups of cooked rice to yield 21 approx 3" diameter meat balls. My friend said she thought it tasted like lasagna in a meatball. I served seasoned green beans, a green salad, and hot dinner rolls as an accompaniment and it was plenty. Thanks for a nice easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
DELICIOUS! I did saute some onion and garlic in a little olive oil before adding the rice and water to cook, which added another dimension of flavor. Also, I actually had some pizza sauce that needed used up, so I went with that. I do know that pizza sauce is usually more heavily seasoned than regular sauce, so maybe that's why I didn't feel any other seasonings were needed, as others have mentioned. I was glad to see that these were baked instead of fried, because my usual recipe calls for frying and this was a nice change. Anyway, the flavors of these were great, they remined me of a cross between pizza (I guess from the pizza sauce) and lasagna. Wonderful recipe that I will be making again, for sure~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These were pretty good. They reminded me of little lasagna balls, even though it was made with rice. It would have taken quite some time, but I made a pot of rice in a rice cooker the night before. I used 2 cups cooked for the recipe, as 1 cup uncooked=2 cups cooked, according to on-line. I always keep 'best marinara sauce yet' from on here in the freezer and used that. It is the perfect sauce. I put them on a large foil lined sheet and got 12 balls. I used a 1 Tablespoon cookie scoop and did 4 level scoops per ball. And, they were a generous size! I had to bake about 5 extra minutes to get slightly crispy. The only change I would make is using 1/2 of the bread crumbs, as about that much did not get used. Thanks for the delicious meal change this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I've never had a rice ball and was very curious to try this especially since they're baked and not fried! This went over really well with my family. My toddler even dug right into it and cleaned his plate!!! I followed the recipe exact, except I used Italian bread crumbs because thats all I use. I used my cookie scoop and it made 25 balls! Way more than we needed but we'll eat the leftovers for lunch this week :-) I baked for 30 minutes than put the broiler on high for a few minutes and they were nice and crispy!! We didn't find these bland at all! I used Prego traditional sauce since we had some leftover that needed to be used! Served with texas cheese toast. Thanks Queenbee28, I'll def make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Really interesting twist on something that looks like full blown meatball. My husband down them like crazy. He said they were pretty good. I took a nibble in the beginning stage after I had mixed the cooked rice, ground beef, seasonings, sauce and cheeses....I did feel it needed more of a zest flavor. My sauce was just a traditional jar of pasta sauce, so I know I could have used something that was more vibrant in flavor. I think that really is the key too this recipe. All in all, it was really good. I used a cookie scooper to make perfect balls and the batch made exactly 30. And I double dipped or double coated the balls in egg and (seasoned)bread crumbs. This was a total delight. Will make this again...that can also be a great football party appy as well as a main dish. Nicely done. I'm impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
We really liked these. The only thing I changed is that I added a generous pinch of dry Italian seasoning to the cooked beef mixture before forming the balls. I used Panko bread crumbs because that is all I had. Mine did not brown up too good (could have been the Panko) so I just stuck them under the broiler for a few minutes. This is one I will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I thought these were so good. I tried them after reading the "to the point"reviews. I never rely on the "makeover" recipes because the whole point of following a recipe is to try it out, not remake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Didn't change a thing - loved every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These are really good! Per other reviews, I added additional spices (oregano, basil, garlic powder) after I browned and drained the meat. To break up the meat into even, small pieces, I always use a wire potato masher as it browns. After the 25 minutes of baking they weren't quite brown enough for my taste so I put the broiler on and watched them closely. Pulled them out of the oven and let them set up for about 15 minutes before putting the sauce over them. A nice change from an all-meat meatball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States