Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Quite good! :) Next time I'll use more sauce at the end, since we like our food "saucy"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Delicious. Made a few changes. i doubled the recipe. Added a tsp of chicken boullian to the rice water to give it some flavor. Microwaved a box of frzn spinach and drained. Added some onion, italian seasoing, and lemon pepper/salt seasoning to the ground beef. Drained the excess oil and added the spinach. I didn't have any mozzarella cheese...used what I had...some parmesan, romano, and queso fresco. Made 14, 3"-4" sz balls. From another reviewer, I dusted flour on the rice ball before dipping into my eggwash. Baked for 25 min and broiled for about 7 min, came out perfect. Since I flavored the rice, I enjoyed it without the sauce, but it was still delicous with it. Husband loved it, so did my 7 yr old who hates eating veggies. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I made some modifications and doubled the recipe thinking I'd freeze half for the future (more on that later). I used 2 c. of a leftover brown rice blend, one lb. of 85/15 ground beef, reduced the cheese to about 1 1/4 c. TOTAL of mozz & manchego (no parm on hand), added an egg to the mixture to help bind it (I'm glad I did; decreasing the cheese meant it wasn't holding together particularly well), browned the beef w/o oil, drained it, THEN added the 4 cloves of garlic & sauteed for a few seconds. Thanks to other reviewers, I added about 3/4 tsp. each of oregano and basil. I only used 2 eggs for the egg wash and used seasoned bread crumbs. I used an ice cream scoop and made 18 meatballs total. So much for freezing some for the future! My husband ate 8 (!!!) and we had a total of 3 left over -- which mysteriously disappeared before dinner the next night. My sister made it, using 1.5 lbs. of beef and her family nearly ate every meatball, too (she stopped counting how many her 3 yr. old ate). I don't know how this could feed a family of four using the standard recipe. I'll make it again, and soon. It's time consuming, but if you split up the work it's easily done in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carissa S

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
These were surprisingly good!! I added a little extra seasoning, per the other reviews, and a little hot sauce cuz that's how I roll. When I went to roll the mixture into balls, I tasted it (I actually had a bowl full of the mixture for lunch) and added what seasoning I thought it needed. It was way too hot for me to roll, and very squishy, so I stuck it in the fridge for an hour. After that, rolling it was a BREEZE. I put the rolled balls in the fridge till closer to supper, then rolled in and egg wash (egg and water) and then plain breadcrumbs I seasoned up and mixed w/ a little oil. I baked them and then sauced them as I served them. (2 balls on the plate, then a spoonful of sauce) That way the leftovers weren't all saucy. To reheat, I nuked a couple balls for 3 minutes, then put in the toaster oven on the LIGHT cycle. Nuked a little sauce and drizzled over. Perfectly crispy! That was my breakfast this morning. These would be a GREAT place to hide veggies for picky kids. Next time I might do half beef and half italian sausage and call them pizza balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I really wanted to like these, but they were just entirely too bland. I felt like there was too much rice and not enough seasoning. We ate them with extra sauce and hot sauce, but I would suggest to others to add plenty of italian seasonings and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I'm a big fan. They taste so similair to regular meatballs but are much more economic and lower in fat. I'm disappointed that my husband wasn't more impressed with them, he just thought they were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I think these were pretty good. I think it just reminds me of the insides of a stuffed pepper. It's important to add enough salt and pepper, otherwise they are quite bland. I'm undecided if I will make these again or no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This recipe is amazing, and one of thee best I have ever made !!! I even took them to work to let some real Italian co-workers try them and they were a hit and all asked for the recipe. Making them again for when the in-laws come in town and very excited for them to try it. You will love this recipe....very tasty. Served it with salad and garlic bread and it was a meal !!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlebeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I didn't change a thing and these were awesome!!!! I will be making these again, and for company next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnrebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is a very delicious and creative recipe, but it did need to be spiced up just a bit for my tastes. I added onion salt, season all, and then added seasonal and dry italian seasoning to the bred crumbs I dipped the balls into. I also had to cook the meatballs for longer to get them as crispy as I liked. Yet, what a fun and delicious recipe Queenbee28! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States