Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was really delicious! I gave this 4 stars because 4 out of 5 family members liked these. My husband & I both agreed that these should be one of our regular meals. The only thing I did differently was use brown rice & added a bit of diced onion to the garlic & hamburger. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is very similar to a recipe that my Sicilian family has been making for years. We add peas to the meat mixture and deep fry them. I know it is more calories but that's the way grandma made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Very good. I used ground turkey and Italian spices and did not have any mozzarella cheese so I used low fat marble. I too had a hard time getting them to stick together initially. However, they did firm up in the fridge and by the time I put them in the egg wash and then the bread crumbs and then baked them. My 5.5 year old and 3.5 year old loved these as did I and I know my hubby will too. The sauce made them nice as well. We also did some steamed green beans with them which were great. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is an intersting recipe..as i was preparing it I thought...this will never stick together to form 2 inch balls, let alone a SOFTBALL SIZE??? (the creator noted she makes em that big?? yikes!) I added my own garden fresh herbs to the meat and everything looked and smelled wonderful ...until I started rolling..no way! they barely held on! Then after i carefully set them on the pan and chilled them... they were a bit better...until I began to dip and roll in the crumbs! no way Jose! I was thinking, it might be the basmati rice I use which is not a very sticky rice. so I took all the glop and formed the balls with the egg mixture and crumbs mixed in then coated them with more crums.....also next time I make them, I am going to do it that way,...because I really like this recipe, I like rice and ground beef together like this. I just cannot figure out how all y'all didnt have trouble making the balls stick! AH! Thanks for the idea, though ..The balls are in the oven and I think they will be wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
These are so delicious and easy! I just ended up using the idea, and substitiuting a package of pork sausage, with my brown rice, then no cheese (lactose intolerant) and it was a a delicious gluten free, dairy free amazing dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaitlyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made these a while back and they were great! Totally forgot about them until the recipe was sent out as the Daily Dish...will definitely be adding these to the menu again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Great recipe! The leftovers were a little dry so when I reheated them I sliced them in 1/2, turned them face down and covered them in tomato sauce and mozzarella, they were awesome! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I used half ground chuck/half Italian sausage, and seasoned with lots of garlic, onion, and Italian seasoning. I even cooked the rice with seasoning, so it would be flavored all the way through. I assembled this early in the day, and had to stop myself from "tasting for seasoning", lest I wouldn't have enough left for dinner! I left the mixture refrigerated for a couple of hours, then made the meatballs. I then left them in the fridge and just had to bread and bake them. These could easily be made a day ahead of time-- & with a few modifications to the master recipe--5-star delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I thought these were so good. I tried them after reading the "to the point"reviews. I never rely on the "makeover" recipes because the whole point of following a recipe is to try it out, not remake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Delicious!! Went just by the recipe. Even had "meatball" subs the next day. My whole family loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy
Home Town: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States