Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Yum, I asked on the buzz what to do with leftover black rice and some ground beef and someone pointed out this recipe. I had made a big pot of oven baked black rice and had leftovers. I added an onion to the garlic saute. I had a pound and a half of ground beef so I just eyeballed how much already cooked rice to use. Tomatoes are overflowing in my garden so I added one. I didn't feel like making a marinara type sauce so I just used a can on tomato paste and some water in the beef/rice mixture. Then made up some guacamole (had an avocado to use up) to dip it in. Not really traditional but we still liked it. It was a good tip to flip them halfway, otherwise mine also would have been hard on one side. They are also good cold and I made my husband a meatball sandwich for his work lunch. Thanks for a great new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Loved them with the adjustments I made.....I combined this recipe along with the Italian Rice Croquettes by Chef John also on this site. Everyone complemented on this dish - I made about 30 of them and they were gone within 2 minutes! Served with three-cheese spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
These were SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good. My husband couldn't stop eating them. The changes I made: used minute rice since it's quicker, made with 93% lean beef, used part-skim mozzarella and added a couple extra cloves of garlic (love garlic!). Even with the lower fat inqredients, it was delicious. My only suggestion would be to turn the rice balls over once when baking since the one side got a little hard when cooking. Although, it could be my crazy oven:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Big hit at our house! But I'm too impatient to refrigerate them so I just start making them into balls once cool enough to handle...not too difficult! Totally worth the time put in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Sparta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Thanks for sharing it. We made it for dinner today, and the family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Maribel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Awesome! Varied your quantities to fit my leftover thai glutinous rice and sub with panko bread crumbs. The glutinous rice is very sticky by nature so it worked perfectly. Hubyy is a happy man! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My family loves these. I made them as is and was surprised at how easy it was to form the balls and how well they stayed together (the key is the melted cheese - it acts as a "glue").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Delicious and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Yum! I followed the recipe ingredients exactly except I used seasoned bread crumbs this time around (too bland otherwise). These are yummy and filling. I've had trouble with the balls not browning though, so this time, I hiked the oven temperature up to 375. It still didn't brown the outside in 25 minutes, so I then had to broil for about 7 minutes. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
cut the rice by half and added a little dried basil, other then that, made as directed. would be very good on meatball sandwiches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States