Rice & Beans (Haitian Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This was good, except calls for way to much salt I think. 1 tbsp? My instincts told me not to add that much salt but I decided to follow the recipe. Well I was right, I think next time I will add 1/2 tbsp. I also added green onion instead of a shallot, and I couldnt find the pepper it called for so I added a peperoncini which are in a jar in the international aisle of the grocery store. I also added dried herbs b/c didnt have fresh ones. So I say this is very good, I will make it again. Thx! I also used a can of kidney beans and reduced the water to 1 1/2 cups as another reviewer said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Beats Jamaican style red beans and rice anyday, I must say. Very good! Smelled really yummy when I was making it, and tasted even better. Passed the test among even the pickiest of critics, even though I had to leave out the adobo powder since I couldn't find any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Really good recipe. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITEE0971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is so good! I don't usually like Red Beans & Rice but I really like this. My local Walmart didn't have the scotch bonnet, he said to substitute a habanero, but I settled for a jalapeno, sliced & seeded and thrown in the pot. It is the perfect heat for us. I did soak my beans first (habit). This recipe was nice because I actually cooked the beans yesterday, put in fridge & finished tonight. Husband thought it was too "clovey" so I will use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
We really enjoyed this. I've never made rice and beans from scratch, so I followed the recipe exactly, except I used quinoa instead of rice (which required a little tweaking of the water/grain measurements). It was so easy! After it was finished, I added another tsp of adobo and chopped up half of the hot pepper for some extra heat. The flavor was so unique--the clove taste really came through. This dish is even good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
YUMMY! This surprised my Haitian parents and grandma. I made it to these specs just for fun - made me nervous at first because I'm used to making it a bit differently. It was DELICIOUS, TASTY, VERY EASY... Dad went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Used a 15 oz can of drained & rinsed kidney beans and reduced the amount of water to 1 1/2 cups and it was perfect! Used an African adobo spice mix which contains a bit more heat. Served with a roasted beer can jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barney, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This dish is way too hot! I've never used a scotch bonnet chile pepper before so didn't know what to expect. Don't know if we'll be able to eat it b/c of the spices...it smells good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Great side dish with some jerk pork or chicken. Good heat, good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupalicious

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
was a hit withthe family. loved it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States