Rice & Beans (Haitian Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was an excellent recipe, I loved the addition of cloves--I would've never thought to do that. I also used an habanero, and used a lot less salt than the recipe asks for. I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I used basmati rice (because that is what I had) and used a four cup liquid to a two cup rice ratio (the four cup liquid ratio included a 330ml can of coconut water to make the four cup liquid total). I also omitted the cloves, adobo seasoning, used a whole uncut jalapeno pepper instead of a scotch bonnet pepper, as my kids are not used to that kind of heat. My husband two "small" samplings before dinner because it was so good. The reason for the 4 star rating is for the tweeking of the liquid to rice ratio, as per what others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Attempted to make this dish last night. This recipe calls for way too much water. The rice came out so mushy. Was the consistency of rice pudding or risotto. Will make again, but will decrease the water by 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was great! I haven't been back to Haiti for years and was starting to get antsy for non-boxed rice and beans, so I figured I'd try and recreate the dish here. I love it because it's so simple! I couldn't find a scotch bonnet pepper so I used a jalapeno. It was good, but the scotch bonnet is so necessary to Haitian cooking that I'm keeping my eye open for them. Also, I couldn't find adobo seasoning but I don't think I missed it. It was good even with the changes I had to make. Plus it smelled DELICIOUS! I even made hubby eat with his hands like I used to. I gave it four stars because it would be too liquidy as written, that is more New Orleans style. Only 4 to 4-1/4 cups of the bean's water is needed. This one is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foster City, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I tried to make this as written but used brown rice, 3.5 cups of liquid as other reviewers said it was too watery, and I didn't have a chile so just used dried red pepper. Boiled for the first 10 min then covered on low for 25 min. Came out absolutely delicious, will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
A very good, and easy dish to pull off. The cloves add a great touch to it. I pretty much followed the recipe as/is, with the addition of a couple of dried chipotles along with the scotch bonnet (although I used a habanero instead of a scotch bonnet, but fairly similar). The chipotles gave it a nice smoky flavor that complimented the cloves nicely. Served it as a side to a grilled chicken marinated in a habanero mango ginger sauce. Put it all together and it makes for a nice, spicy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
OMG this was almost exactly as I remember it! The only thing is, I dunno how anyone thinks 5 cups of water to 1 cup of rice is correct. It came out too soggy, so I'm trying it with 4 cups of water to 4 cups water. I'll let you know... UPDATE: Yup, 4 cups water was plenty! It occurs to me that if you use Uncle Bens (which a lot of Haitians did, back before long grain rice became readily available in the Americas), you would have wanted the 5 cups of water, but with long grain, 4 should be plenty. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGUWAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
this had a weird taste to me, I added 1/4 cup of sugar to cancel out the bitterness. I will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These were great, but a little dry. I used a can of kidney beans and 1 1/2 C water per another reviewer, and I think it could've used 2 Cups of water instead. Also, I didn't have shallots so I used onions (probably 1/4 Cup); I used less cloves (scant 1/8 tsp) and was glad I did. It was just right; 1/4 tsp would've been too clovey for us. I also used more Adobo seasoning and didn't use any chile pepper; I just sprinkled on some ground red pepper instead and it was great! I will definitely make this many times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Fantastic! I adored them! Worked excellently w/ brown rice; it just took a while longer to cook. Wonderful served w/ tostones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States