Rice & Beans (Haitian Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great recipe but way too much water. Next time I'll try 2 c of water for each cup of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Speechless no words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I don't often feel compelled to write a recipe review, but this was stellar and likely to be a frequent side dish. I did not have scotch bonnet, but I didn't look for a recipe until after I had shopped. I know it is crazy hot though, so would just tone it to my audience if I didn't want to use it. As it was, I use the cayenne pepper that I had on hand. Wonderful! Makes a ton, and could have cut in half for the 2 of us, easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
So. Great. I didn't have adobo seasoning but did have a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce so threw in one of those and omitted the scotch bonnet pepper. We mixed in a spoonful of sour cream and my toddler and preschooler inhaled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Not bad. Definitely edible and has a good flavor. I think I need a little more flavor in my Haitian rice though. I may double some of the spices that were added. I grew up in a Haitian family and have had Di Riz Cole (what Red Beans and Rice is called in Creole) at so many different relatives houses and at so many different Haitian restaurants im very picky. But this recipe was good, especially for starters who just want to try it out. It needs a little more kick for me but it's definitely not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Really good. I used canned beans and 2 cups chicken broth instead of bean water. Agree with other reviewers, it was way too salty (I used low sodium broth) and probably will go 1/8 tsp on the cloves next time. Otherwise this smelled wonderful, tasted great and was a perfect complement to our BBQ-ed Jamaican Jerk chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I used canned kidney beans to simplify the recipe and basmati rice instead of long grain. I also substituted unsweetened, canned coconut milk (7 oz.) and the drained liquid from the canned beans for some of the liquid. Fantastic! A great accompaniment to jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
A little hot for me. I lived in Haiti several years, and you've got to use the dried beans and bean water if you want the good color with the rice. But I must say, we never had beans and rice without bean sauce, in our region. We always cooked beans and pushed them through a strainer, like making applesauce, to make the sauce. There was nothing quite so good as beans and rice and bean sauce!! And, though expensive, kabrit! (goat meat!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Two cups of water was perfect with canned beans. I recommend less oil (perhaps 2 tablespoons), that's the only thing I will change next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I have been to Haiti twice now and i love tha food so much i crave in on a daily basis when ive come back to tha states. Iam going to try to make this for tha first time. Hope it tastes exactly how i remembered:) wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States