Rice & Beans (Haitian Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
this taste just like my mother's recipe! i never got it from her since she cooks from memory like most great mother chefs do!! the scotch bonnet pepper gave it the zip i needed and this recipe is adaptable to any beans. when i make it with black beans i use celery instead of shallots and it comes out great. thank you for this recipe. it will be a main staple in my home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
This recipe was FANTASTIC!! It's great paired with buffalo wings. I made this on a Sunday afternoon and the smell in the house was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Definitely worth the while... my only question, where do you get bonnet chile peppers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I'm not a big fan of Red Beans and Rice but this is something special. The cloves give it that extra flavor which made the house smell incrediable. My husband came home and that was the first thing he said, "what smells so good"? I didn't have the chili pepper so I used red pepper flakes just to give it a little heat. I also didn't have any parsley so I used dried and left it in. This recipe is something different then your plan old red beans and rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
One word: YUK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I made it exactly as directed - delicious and healthy - an A+ in our book. DH asks for it frequently, which is really saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
was a hit withthe family. loved it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Great side dish with some jerk pork or chicken. Good heat, good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupalicious

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This dish is way too hot! I've never used a scotch bonnet chile pepper before so didn't know what to expect. Don't know if we'll be able to eat it b/c of the spices...it smells good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Used a 15 oz can of drained & rinsed kidney beans and reduced the amount of water to 1 1/2 cups and it was perfect! Used an African adobo spice mix which contains a bit more heat. Served with a roasted beer can jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barney, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States