Rice & Beans (Haitian Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Very flavorful. I used 1 can of beans instead and added them 5 minutes before the rice was finished so that the beans didn't dry out. And I cut down the water to 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This recipie was pretty darn good! I added a banana pepper cause I didn't have a jalapeno but I'm sure the jalapeno would have been better. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neslundcori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I grew up in the South, but never really liked red beans and rice. This recipe, however, was delicious, highly flavorful and I can't wait to make it again and add some sausage or some shrimp. I added the adobo and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was pretty good! I used a jalepeno pepper instead- I chopped it up and just cooked in into the rice and beans; worked well. I don't think I'll make it again based on personal preference, but it was fun to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
We've made this at least 10 times. It's so good. Cheap ingredients, lots of protein, easy to make, tastes fantastic. We serve it with mojito pork on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was really good paired with jerk chicken. I used brown rice instead of white and it turned out really well. Although next time I will probably only use 1 bay leaf, 2 were very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Hands down the best rice & beans I've ever tasted. I didn't have the pepper, so I subbed a tiny bit of chili flakes. I also threw in a bunch of chopped celery. I only used 4 cups of water instead of 5, and it came out just wonderfully...not sure if it was supposed to be more "moist"? Anyways it was fabulous and seasoned excellently, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was tasty and a nice side dish but I found the 5 cups of liquid was too much. Next time I'll try 4 or 4 1/2. I used 1/2 cup of coconut milk as part of the liquid which was really nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My hubby and I loved this recipe, the kids notsomuch, but that's not surprising, as they just want burgers and potatoes! LOL! We liked it alot!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States