Ribollita (Reboiled Italian Cabbage Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
this soup is a lot of work but well worth it! It feed our family of 6 for two nights and we froze the rest for a cold winter night. Even my 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin in cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delicious, thick, comforting soup! I modified the recipe quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Our family had picked lots of produce at a farm and this was an excellent way to use it up. I cannot think of a kale and chard soup that I have enjoyed as much! I bypassed the sauteing of veggies and just put them directly into the soup. We used Eden's canned cannellini beans instead of cooking from scratch and Muir Glen organic canned tomatoes. My french bread was a few days old. It was difficult to toast in my toaster, so I chose to fry it lightly with olive oil, and I would do that again, as it added lots of flavor! I also used a powdered vegetable broth from Frontier instead of chicken broth and a very small amount of diced jalapeno- not traditional but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I made this soup for our Christmas Eve dinner. It was very labor intensive but worth it. I think we had even more than 12 servings. I substituted canned beans for dried ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is a fantastic soup recipe. I did add extra chicken broth, 1 cup fresh parsley, extra potatoes, carrots, celery, and cabbage. Added thyme, savory, italian seasoning and cut down on the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I made this after our vacation in Florence and it was EXCELLENT. I would not change one single thing in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Excellent flavor! I forgot to add the garlic in step 2 so I just sauteed it with the onions, which worked well. Also, my pot was too full to add the bread so I skipped that part. It tasted great without it, though I also tried it with putting a piece of toasted bread in the bottom of a soup bowl and ladeling the soup over it. It was delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
First and foremost, I threw everything in a slow cooker (gasp!) excluding the greens. I also used canned beans (another gasp!). I let this simmer in a slow cooker for 8 hours and then added the greens the last 30 mins or so. I also added a stock that I had left over from a fish dish earlier in the week. Served over crusty day old bread and its was very feeling and comforting. I am sorry I did not prepare as directed, but I am sure it would be even better if I had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. it's labor intensive but worth it. The toasted French bread works if you can't get real Italian 3 day old bread. Ribollita can also be made from canned minestrone soup cooked down with stale Italian bread, crushed and added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Seale

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was a lot of work, but I somehow had all of the ingredients on hand and needed to use them up. I am glad that I did, because this was outstanding. I ended up making it like you would French Onion Soup, putting it in serving size containers, adding the toasted bread and cheese right at the end and then sticking them under the broiler. Absolutely delicious! Thank you Josie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States