Ribollita (Reboiled Italian Cabbage Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Very filling soup! Similar to the one I had in Tuscany, minus the canned tomatoes which I left out as personal preference. Don't cook for too long or else the cabbage goes mushy and tasteless, and choose stale bread -soaked in cold water for a day or two- for the best results. A wonderful fall or winter soup that doesn't disappoint. Thanks for sharing Josie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Our family had picked lots of produce at a farm and this was an excellent way to use it up. I cannot think of a kale and chard soup that I have enjoyed as much! I bypassed the sauteing of veggies and just put them directly into the soup. We used Eden's canned cannellini beans instead of cooking from scratch and Muir Glen organic canned tomatoes. My french bread was a few days old. It was difficult to toast in my toaster, so I chose to fry it lightly with olive oil, and I would do that again, as it added lots of flavor! I also used a powdered vegetable broth from Frontier instead of chicken broth and a very small amount of diced jalapeno- not traditional but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is a fantastic soup recipe. I did add extra chicken broth, 1 cup fresh parsley, extra potatoes, carrots, celery, and cabbage. Added thyme, savory, italian seasoning and cut down on the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I've had better soups in my life, but I don't know that I've had a better vegetable soup! This was excellent. That said, I might add sausage next time to make this even better. I followed the recipe, except that I upped the cabbage and kale and skipped the chard. I also left out the french bread. This seems to be a very adaptable and forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Excellent flavor! I forgot to add the garlic in step 2 so I just sauteed it with the onions, which worked well. Also, my pot was too full to add the bread so I skipped that part. It tasted great without it, though I also tried it with putting a piece of toasted bread in the bottom of a soup bowl and ladeling the soup over it. It was delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
very good,,,didn't alter(unusual for me!) anything, except didn't have french bread so I toasted my whole grain chewy bread and topped at the end under broiler with cheese,,,thank you, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was a lot of work, but I somehow had all of the ingredients on hand and needed to use them up. I am glad that I did, because this was outstanding. I ended up making it like you would French Onion Soup, putting it in serving size containers, adding the toasted bread and cheese right at the end and then sticking them under the broiler. Absolutely delicious! Thank you Josie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was really good! i enjoyed it alot, although I would also pick stale bread because it holds up better! p.s. my name is josie too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I made this soup for our Christmas Eve dinner. It was very labor intensive but worth it. I think we had even more than 12 servings. I substituted canned beans for dried ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
this soup is a lot of work but well worth it! It feed our family of 6 for two nights and we froze the rest for a cold winter night. Even my 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin in cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States