Ribollita (Reboiled Italian Cabbage Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Very filling soup! Similar to the one I had in Tuscany, minus the canned tomatoes which I left out as personal preference. Don't cook for too long or else the cabbage goes mushy and tasteless, and choose stale bread -soaked in cold water for a day or two- for the best results. A wonderful fall or winter soup that doesn't disappoint. Thanks for sharing Josie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was really good! i enjoyed it alot, although I would also pick stale bread because it holds up better! p.s. my name is josie too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Our family had picked lots of produce at a farm and this was an excellent way to use it up. I cannot think of a kale and chard soup that I have enjoyed as much! I bypassed the sauteing of veggies and just put them directly into the soup. We used Eden's canned cannellini beans instead of cooking from scratch and Muir Glen organic canned tomatoes. My french bread was a few days old. It was difficult to toast in my toaster, so I chose to fry it lightly with olive oil, and I would do that again, as it added lots of flavor! I also used a powdered vegetable broth from Frontier instead of chicken broth and a very small amount of diced jalapeno- not traditional but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Excellent flavor! I forgot to add the garlic in step 2 so I just sauteed it with the onions, which worked well. Also, my pot was too full to add the bread so I skipped that part. It tasted great without it, though I also tried it with putting a piece of toasted bread in the bottom of a soup bowl and ladeling the soup over it. It was delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
this soup is a lot of work but well worth it! It feed our family of 6 for two nights and we froze the rest for a cold winter night. Even my 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin in cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I made this soup for our Christmas Eve dinner. It was very labor intensive but worth it. I think we had even more than 12 servings. I substituted canned beans for dried ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
First and foremost, I threw everything in a slow cooker (gasp!) excluding the greens. I also used canned beans (another gasp!). I let this simmer in a slow cooker for 8 hours and then added the greens the last 30 mins or so. I also added a stock that I had left over from a fish dish earlier in the week. Served over crusty day old bread and its was very feeling and comforting. I am sorry I did not prepare as directed, but I am sure it would be even better if I had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delicious, thick, comforting soup! I modified the recipe quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. it's labor intensive but worth it. The toasted French bread works if you can't get real Italian 3 day old bread. Ribollita can also be made from canned minestrone soup cooked down with stale Italian bread, crushed and added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is a fantastic soup recipe. I did add extra chicken broth, 1 cup fresh parsley, extra potatoes, carrots, celery, and cabbage. Added thyme, savory, italian seasoning and cut down on the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States