Ribollita (Reboiled Italian Cabbage Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
We wanted to love this soup...but just couldn't. I had 2 very small bowls and found that hot sauce helped me overcome the earthy taste. Unfortunately, after a few bites my husband was not able to finish his. Not having ever used Swiss Chard in a recipe before, I wonder if removing the stems might have helped? (They were red stems and I read that those are supposed to be the sweetest.) The recipe reminded me of Kale and Bean soup, which we love, so we'll go back to that one and take this one out of our recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Delicious! I am a beginning cook and have never been very good in the kitchen, but this turned out super tasty -- receiving great reviews from both my fiance and neighbor. I used vegetable broth since I'm a vegetarian and skipped the chard since I didn't have any, but otherwise followed the recipe. I used savoy cabbage as it tastes much better in soup to me than other kinds of cabbage. The recipe made a huge amount so I am glad it turned out so good! Thanks for sharing; I'll definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
what a great meal! I used great northern beans in lue of died cannellini and it still turned out amazing. this is a dish I will make for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynardo
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is so good and well worth the time. It isn't a hard recipe, just time-consuming. But the good news is that a lot of the time is passive so it's great for a multi-tasking day. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've wanted to make this since seeing it featured on a Bravo cooking show (Around the World in 80 Plates). Well this week, my CSA box had just about all the ingredients, except the celery, garlic and onion (which I already had)! The only thing I did that was not per the recipe was to use canned beans (sorry, but I'm lazy that way), and I only had 1 can of cannellini beans, so I used garbanzos for the second can. Again, sorry! Aside from that, I followed the recipe, except to make a bigger batch so I can freeze the leftovers. This is a delicious soup, and I think it's a great way to serve super nutritious greens to the family! I love greens of all kinds, and can chase my boyfriend with them, but when I've made soups like white bean and Swiss chard, he enjoyed it. I work from home, so on my lunch break, I prepared the soup and left it simmering on the stove, as the prep work is fairly labor intensive (but well worth it). I had some already stale French bread, and I did cook some spicy chicken Italian sausage to add, for my boyfriend, as he always has to have meat with dinner. What I like about this soup is it can be made vegan/vegetarian by using a vegan chicken flavored broth (Superior Touch Better Than Bouillon), and meat/cheese eaters can add Parmesan (or sausage). I can easily serve this to my vegan and meat eating friends, knowing it's both delicious and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Has anyone even tried this recipe? Looks like a bunch of folks have their own version that they are reviewing but I would like a review on THIS recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This is absolutely delicious and great for using a variety of greens from the garden. It looked like it made a ton, so I cut it down considerably, and I used canned cannellini beans. It's good even without the bread and cheese, but if you want a "comfort food," I suggest toasting a bit of rustic bread and sprinkling parmesan on the top and broiling it in the oven for a few minutes (like French onion soup, but bury the bread down in the soup so that it soaks up the deliciousness). It's delicious, warming, and comforting at the end of a twelve-hour shift. An excellent winter stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peejau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I have made this recipe twice, doubling up both times. This last time I put in swiss chard,kale and a bunch of dandelion leaves. I used white navy beans. I didn't do the toasted bread and parmesan to cut down on calories. If anyone is looking for a great diet meal, this is it. The best soap I have ever had the pleasure of making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Exceptional vegetable soup (and I am not big on vegetable soups or bean soups without meats for that matter)!!! This I will make over and over again. I only had italian style diced tomatoes, so that is what I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
WE loved this soup especially the next day although we did omit the bread. Delicious and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States