Riblets and Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
AWESOME RECIPE! I had to use country style ribs, as I couldn't find spareribs. This sauce is so tasty and easy! Would be wonderful for chicken too. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I requested a BBQ rib recipe that was similar to the ribs served at P.F. Changs. According to my husband, the taste of this was very, very similar. Its been 6 mos. since I went to P. F. Changs, so my memory is a bit shaky. I'll take my husband's word. The only change I would make is to double the sauce. Use half for the marinade and keep the other half for basting while grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKUKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
What a great recipe...simple and delicious. The ribs - and I used riblets - came out fall off the bone tender. I baked them at 350F for about 1hr, covered with foil. No leftovers here! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This is the best way to make ribs--by simmering them first. They were juicy and tender! This was a nice change from the usual, however, I felt the sauce was a little too salty. Definitely leave out the 1 tsp. of salt. Soy sauce is salty enough by itself. Next time, if there is one, also take the advice of another reviewer and double the sauce. You have to constantly watch these babies because the sauce really burns easily. Even if I don't make this recipe again, I will definitely boil my ribs from now on before barbecuing. It saves on having to cook them in the oven for two hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
These riblets are outstanding. My husband said that he'd never have riblets at (a famous chain restaurant famous for their riblets) again!! The meat falls right off of the bone, and the flavor is amazing. I added about a tablespoon of minced ginger root to the marinade to kick up the asian flavor of the ribs. Also, no extra salt is necessary- the soy sauce is salty enough. I have made them twice now, both times in the oven in a roasting pan. Definately double the sauce if you cook them in the oven, and turn the riblets a couple of times throughout cooking- there won't be any sauce leftover- it will all have soaked into the meat. They make great leftovers too!! These are a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Wow, I can't believe how good the ribs were.. really juicy and tender! Even though I was in a rush and only followed the ingredients and not the directions (didn't simmer or marinate), I just slathered on the sauce and threw it in into the oven. But it turned out perfect and my husband LOVED it, which he is pretty picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I cooked these in my slow cooker.I left out the salt and it was still too salty for us. I think i will try making these again with a low sodium soy sauce and maybe add some hot pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dulcemanzana
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I had to add a cup of water to the mix to have enough to marinate the pork. It was good, but I belive I will add some brown sugar and a few drops of hot sauce the next time. Thanks for the recipe, my wife devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Unless my hubby is smoking ribs, there's nothing like a nice slow simmer to make them fall of the bone tender. I had to at least quadruple the wet ingredients to make enough sauce for our ribs. I found the sauce a little mediocore in taste, so I added in garlic and onion powders, hot sauce, worcestershire sauce, yellow mustard and used brown sugar instead of the white. With these additions, my family gave these ribs a thumbs up. Thank you for sharing Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Because I was cooking for one the amount of sauce was sufficient, but I can see where it wouldn't be enough for five pounds of ribs. I'm not saying that this recipe was not good, I would have just preferred a little kick to them as I thought they were bit on the ordinary side. I would suggest making the sauce a day early and adding a chopped up thai pepper or two and let it sit in the fridge for a day to let it all get acquainted. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States