Ribboned Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
For those wanting a stronger chocolate flavor, try these suggestions: Add a couple tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder to the batter, and substitute room-temperature, strong, brewed coffee for the water called for on the package. Finish with "Satiny Chocolate Glaze" from this website. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I've been making this recipe for years and my favorite version is to use a strawberry cake mix. It comes out beautiful and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is an amazing cake!! I don't like to use boxed mixes, so I found a homemade "box mix" recipe chocolate cake that is better than Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker! RECIPE:: 2c. flour 1 3/4 c. sugar 1c. cocoa 2t. baking powder 1t. baking soda 1/2t. salt 1/4c. veg. shortening. BLEND this really good till there are no more lumps(I used my bosch mixer with the whisk attachment, worked Great!) This is your mix...you can use it in place of ANY boxed cake mix in a recipe TO FINISH THE CAKE ADD:: 1 1/3c. water 1/2c. oil 3eggs mix together and add to the cake like you would a box. Then continue with THIS recipe as "JO" has it written. WONDERFUL RECIPE THAT I WILL DO AGAIN!!! Gods blessings to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Very good, moist, so good with ice cold milk. I put about a cup of mini chocolate chips in the cream cheese batter before pouring it on the cake batter. Yummmmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Love, love, LOVE this recipe - and it's so pretty! I've made this couple of times for the office and it's been a big hit. I top it with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this same website and that just gives it a little extra something. Thanks so much for sharing it Jo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I tried to make this tonight, followed the directions and it looked beautiful...until I tried to turn it out. The filling looked gross and the cake stuck so bad that I cannot bring it to work tomorrow. Needless to say I made a very expensive mistake. I hope everyone else has better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2000
This tastes a lot like cream cheese brownies. I used low fat cream cheese, and no fat condensed milk and it was very good. Much like cream cheese brownies, just fancier looking. Everyone that tasted it, liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
My mother requested this for her birthday. I made this for her about three YEARS ago, and it made such an impression she wants it again! This cake is really delicious. I think a lot depends on what brand of mix you buy...I find DHines gives the best results. The cream cheese is easiest to beat after it has come to room temp. If you don't have time for that, soften it briefly in the microwave to make mixing it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Use a 12 CUP Bundt pan! Batter bakes up almost to the top of the 12 cup pan. Do not use a 10 cup! With that said, this cake tastes great and is so pretty. I have made it several times and each time it comes out perfect. It really looks like you have gone to a lot of trouble. When really it is very simple. The chocolate is very mild so if you prefer a strong chocolate taste you will need to add to it. Everyone who has tried this went on and on about how good it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and it was not good. The ribbon did not sink into the batter. It cracked off the top. I have never followed a recipe that came out this badly. Too bad, the picture looked nice and the recipe sounded like it would be easy and delicious. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States